Skip to content

Ugh. I deserve this.

October 23, 2007

I know the importance of good shoes. Really, I do. Rob, on the other hand? Not so much. I’m blaming him and my own stupidity for the pain I’m in today.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a sucker for a bargain. My favorite stores are ones with big signs proclaiming exciting things like “70 percent off department store prices,” i.e. Ross, T.J. Maxx, etc. I’ll throw Kohl’s in there for good measure, since they have some kick-ass sales on a regular basis.

That attraction to low prices is what led me to buy a pair of $25 tennis shoes. I knew the brand – Avia – and they looked like a decent pair of shoes. They were comfy in the store and were especially cushiony. So I went for it. You can’t beat $25 for tennis shoes, right?

Apparently, you can.

I laced them up for the first time this morning with the intention of doing week one, day two of C25k. That didn’t happen. I didn’t even get out of my driveway before I noticed something was amiss. The shoes seemed to be pulling my feet inward, kind of rolling them toward the inside. It felt all wrong, so I went back to inspect my worn-out shoes. I know I walk more on one side of my feet than the other, and I wanted to make sure this wasn’t just making that worse.

I discovered that it was, in fact, pulling my feet opposite of the normal direction they tend to ride. Logic told me, though, that if I naturally pull one way and shoes pulled me the other, maybe it was working right finally, and my feet would ride normal for once. So I set off.

Unfortunately, the pull (or whatever it might really be called) was extremely uncomfortable, and I soon noticed I was stepping differently to make up for the weird feeling. Walking was uncomfortable, so I knew running would be hell. So C25k got thrown out the window.

By the time I was more than halfway through my short route, I noticed an uncomfortable rub on my right heel. A blister would surely be there before I made it to the house, so I opted to stick to the short route instead of taking the “long cut” as I had intended when I scrapped the C25k plan.

So not only did C25k not get accomplished today, but I also did a shorter walk. Plus, I have a blister, my feet are sore (it’s been eight hours since wearing them) and so is my back.

I don’t know if you can return tennis shoes that have been worn (nor do I know if I have the balls to attempt said return), so I now, instead of getting a bargain pair of shoes, have wasted $25 on shoes I doubt I’ll even put on again.

Damn.

Oh, and I still need new tennis shoes. I’ve just about worn away the sole on the ones I’ve been wearing the past year.

Now I need to convince Rob that spending some real money on shoes is worth it. And explain how I wasted $25 on crap shoes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

