Skip to content

Weekend recap

October 29, 2007

I’ve got to get that yucky post out of the top spot. I don’t have much exciting stuff on my mind today, so here’s an attempt at something.

God bless Blockbuster Movie Pass. The program (subscription? club? addiction?) has been a lifesaver for our movie cravings. Rob and I are both big on movies, but our bank account just isn’t big on theaters or numerous rentals. This has met both our crazy love of movies and our shortage of funds.

In the last five days, we’ve watched three movies, fresh off the big screen (well, sort of): “Transformers,” “1408” and “Wild Hogs.”

I’m still on the fence about “1408,” (it was classic Stephen King), and “Wild Hogs” was decent, but we both agree that we LOVED “Transformers.” It was a great trip down memory lane for Rob, and it brought back memories I didn’t bother to really hang onto for me. Plus, it was just a good action-packed movie. And I love me some action.

What else? In no particular order: We logged in some decent family time on Saturday when Rob’s grandpa stopped in on his way to Florida. My chocolate-chip pumpkin muffins were a hit. The Buckeyes beat the snot out of Penn State. The Browns posted a bragalicious win over the Rams. We cleaned our carpets. I did lots of laundry. We ate two (semi-homemade) pizzas. I went to church. I went grocery shopping.

It’s no secret I’m a klutz. This weekend alone I sliced open my toe by accidentally kicking a sharp piece on a door (picture how you stub your toe, only against a sharp piece of metal), AND I sliced open my thumb with one of my bad-ass kitchen knives.

The first injury was no thang. The second hurt like hell. Lucky for me, my knife is super sharp and sliced clean through. It felt deep, but I didn’t have the guts to spread the skin and investigate its depth. That and it was stinging, throbbing and bleeding.

It’s a good thing I’m married to a hands-on kinda guy who has sliced himself open on various things. He was quick to stick my hand under water then wrap it in a towel. And I held it above my heart for about an hour.

That may have been extreme (OK, I know it was), but I hate bleeding injuries. I’d rather look like a loon with my hand raised than soak through a couple paper towels with my own blood. Good news is my skin sealed itself back up. Bad news is it’s just waiting for me to be stupid and rip it open again.

You’d think a klutz would be used to bleeding injuries. Well, I’m not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heidi Moritz permalink
    October 31, 2007 10:04 am

    “The Buckeyes beat the snot out of Penn State.”

    I don’t particularly like that sentence! I’m still bitter…

Leave a Reply

