Skip to content

Dream a little dream

November 13, 2007

It’s something that crosses my mind in those fleeting, daydreaming moments, but I have never really sat down and thought about a number of dreams I have for myself and my family. Until today, that is.

I dream of:

teaching high school journalism and running the school paper;

having a stellar camera and taking some more visual editing classes. With the constantly new technology and the limitless possibilities, more classes can’t hurt;

being a college student for life. I can do without the boring assignments that keep me up all hours of the night and the tests, but I’d be happier than a pig in shit to sit through interesting classes for 8 hours a day;

doing freelance design work of some sort;

having at least one kid, no more than three;

be a stay-at-home mom at least until the kids go to school, maybe longer if it’s good for us;

having time and money to take real vacations AND go to Ohio a few times a year to visit family and friends;

having no debt except for house/car payments;

figuring out time management;

never seeing the 160s on the scale again;

making exercise a regular part of my life;

no more french-fry cravings;

having the job of Tom Hanks’ character in “Big” (you know, the playing-with-toys job);

having a chauffeur to drive me around Charlotte so I never have to deal with the traffic (because that’s more likely than my own helicopter);

being able to tell people what is on my mind without any consequences;

delicious, zero-calorie, zero-fat ice cream;

and Cedar Fair building Carowinds up to be the next Cedar Point.

Some of my dreams obviously conflict with other ones. But that’s the beauty of dreams, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

