Skip to content

Take me home.

November 28, 2007

And not to my home in NC. My real home in Ohio. With most of my friends. And most of my family. And real Christmas-season weather. And everything else that’s there and not here.

My homesickness has gotten more tolerable on the whole, but this time of year is the hardest. I want to be back there surrounded by people I know and who know me. As much as I try to avoid it, I want to see familiar faces when I go to the mall (and not just because they’ve harassed me from their kiosk numerous times).

I want to shop at the places I grew up shopping in. I want to eat food from restaurants I grew up eating in. I want a greasy, mystery-meat Romanburger from Mr. Hero, for goodness sake.

I want to hear “y’all” less and “you guys” more.

And I don’t want soda with that Romanburger. I want a pop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

