Skip to content

Something is wrong with me.

November 29, 2007

Every time I buy something new at the grocery store, I have this awful urge to try it as soon as I can.

I at least wait till I pay.

But after that, it’s a free-for-all.

And, of course, this only goes for things you can either consume in small amounts (like a cereal bar) or something you can close back up to use in its entirety later.

Take this evening for example.

I stopped at Trader Joe’s on my way home to pick up some things I wanted to try (it’s new to our area, and I have a growing list of must-try items).

Today I bought:
dried fruit bars (think dried fruit bits meet fruit roll-ups, but in grown-up, healthy fashion);
whole wheat flour tortillas;
frozen chicken and veggies with fajita spices;
low-fat cheddar cheese sticks (individually wrapped … think string cheese, only not stringy);
sour cream and onion rice crisps;
tomato and roasted red pepper soup in a resealable cardboard carton;
and garlic-herb pizza dough.

On the drive home, I ate one fruit bar, one stick of cheese and a couple of those rice crisps. I cracked open the soup carton to give the soup a taste before sticking it in the fridge (must use in 10 days). And we’re having the pizza dough (though I will cook it first) for dinner.

Now look back at my list. The only things that’s not making it to my mouth tonight are a tortillas and the fajita mix. That was the other dinner option, though. And we may have chicken fajitas for dinner tomorrow.

What’s my problem? I’m like a kid on Christmas who needs to play with all the new toys as soon as they’re unwrapped. Only it’s food that I’m itching to get at.

Not good, Batman. Not good.

At least it was all healthy stuff, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

