Skip to content

Sometimes I'm not so nice.

December 4, 2007

I went to Crate and Barrel today. For those of you in Charlotte, you’ll understand the parking mess that is that store. Parking is pretty much a one-way deal in their sad excuse for a parking lot.

If there are no spaces going in your direction, you have to leave the “lot” and turn around somewhere else (after waiting in traffic to do so) before you can head in the opposite direction.

Or you can bust a pathetic U-turn with a security guard giving you the stink eye. Not that I do that sort of thing.

Today, there were three large SUVs that each took up two spaces. For those of you who suck at math, that’s six spaces that were wasted on these POS drivers who can’t park.

I finally parked my car and did my shopping (all that hassle for not even five mintutes of shopping) and was in my car leaving when I noticed something funny the biggest of the two-parking-spot SUVs: a flatter-than-flat tire.

I don’t know if it happened innocently or if some other angry patron slashed the Yukon Denali’s tires, but I imagined the latter scenario as I drove past the driver – a woman in a heinous fur coat with equally heinous look-at-how-expensive-I-am sunglasses – sitting in the driver’s seat on her cell phone supposedly calling for help.

I couldn’t help but smirk as I drove past. I know it’s not nice to find pleasure in others’ misfortune, but darn it. It felt good today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

