Skip to content

Boo-ya

January 25, 2008

I own the elliptical this week. I’m working on making that thing my bitch.

I did 22 minutes on it Monday, 17 minutes on it Tuesday (I was soooooo tired. I’m lucky I made it 17 minutes.), 25 minutes on it Wednesday, took Thursday off to get my hair cut (nothing drastic. I’ll post a pic later.) and 30 – yes, three-zero – minutes on it today.

I won’t lie. Those 30 minutes weren’t easy. I wanted to give up a few times. But then “My Humps” by Black Eyed Peas came on, and it was like the guy (I don’t know names!) was asking what I was going to do with all that junk inside my trunk. There is an awful lot of junk in that trunk of mine, and you know what I’m going to do with it, Mr. Black Eyed Peas Man? GET RID OF IT.

So with that, I pulled out every ounce of motivation I’ve been talking myself into over the last week and made it till the machine beeped at me.  And you know what? I feel great.

I had an epiphany of sorts while getting rid of the junk in my trunk on Wednesday. Exercise can’t be an option for me. It doesn’t matter whether I like to do it or not, so I need to quit wasting time trying to like it. It’s just a necessity for my life.

I started adding up the number of hours I am stationary each week. I work 40 hours a week sitting in a chair at a computer. I spend somewhere around 12 hours sitting in a car while I’m driving to work and running errands during the week (the weekends vary, so I didn’t count those hours). I sleep somewhere around 8 hours each night. That right there is 156 hours each week. That doesn’t count time I’ve spent sitting/laying on the couch to watch TV or movies or sitting at my home computer or sitting to eat.

That’s a lot of sitting for someone with two perfectly good legs!

After all that math, it occurred to me that God wouldn’t give me the ability to have a fully mobile body if he didn’t intend for me to use it.

So there you have it. Just as eating, drinking and grooming are essential parts of my daily life, so must be exercise because of my relatively stationary lifestyle.

Maybe I’ll learn to one day call it a hobby. But for right now, it’s just an essential element of my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

