Skip to content

They are smarter than the average bear

February 4, 2008

Whoever these “they” people are, they’re pretty smart. I’ve read and heard the same thing a number of places: It takes 21 days to form a habit.

I don’t know who came up with the magic number, but I have a feeling it’s “they.”

In any case, they are right.

Last week, I still had to talk myself into getting on the elliptical. More than that, I had to talk myself into not changing into my comfy clothes and plopping down into my comfy chair , which was my past after-work routine. Throw a snack in there for good measure.

But today? Today I got home, let Lucky out to pee and headed straight for my workout clothes. Then I headed straight for that elliptical. This certainly didn’t go unnoticed. As soon as I finished my workout (30 minutes, yay!), I logged into my blog admin and looked back to when I posted my first multi-workout week.

And you know what? That week began 21 days ago TODAY. Yep. No lie. I say in my Jan. 21 WW weigh in that I used the elliptical three times the week before. I know, because of my astute memory, that my first elliptical day was Monday of the week before (aka Jan. 14).

So there you have it. They’re right, and I have shiny, new habit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

