Skip to content

7,352

February 27, 2008

That’s how many steps I logged yesterday. With my stride, that comes out to 2.55 miles.

In the spirit of full disclosure, that does include a 3,755-step walk with Lucky. Without that walk, I’d be at 3,597 steps.

That’s much better than I thought, though! I sit at a desk all the livelong day, so I was really expecting a much lower number.

Now I just need to add those extra steps into my normal daily routine, and I’ll be good to go.

I can’t remember if I said this before, but to recap: “They” recommend taking 6,000 steps a day for health and 10,000 steps a day for weight loss.

Since my current form of exercise is my elliptical machine, which has a controlled stride distance and thusly doesn’t produce accurate pedometer readings, I’m aiming for 6,000 steps a day plus my workouts.

My current ideas for increasing the number of steps I take are to walk around the block to get to the office instead of walking directly to the building (I currently park in the farthest parking lot) and/or to add a daily walk with Lucky.

I know the latter would benefit both Lucky and me, so that’s most likely, especially when it’s a million degrees outside and I’m not wanting to walk into work smelling like a locker room. At least if I walk around the neighborhood when it’s hot, I have a shower to de-stinkify myself in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

