Skip to content

Hello, my old friend.

March 31, 2008

I’ve picked up reading again. Once upon a time, I consumed somewhere around two books a week. But that was when I had no bills and all my money was pretty disposable. That was also when I had a library that wasn’t completely out of the way and, quite frankly, didn’t SUCK (don’t get me started on my “local” library).

Not having the money to spend on books I’d consume in a couple days or to drive 10 miles out of my way to visit a crappy library really put a halt to my favorite hobby. But Paperback Swap has changed it all!

I received the two free credits when I posted 10 books to trade, plus I’ve sent out six books. That makes for eight credits, aka eight practically free books.

Right now, I’m re-reading “To Kill A Mockingbird.” I fell in love with this book when I picked it up as a huge extra-credit project in Mr. Wilson’s 10th-grade English class.

I think this will be my third trip back to Maycomb County with Scout and Jem, and I’m loving it as much as I did the first time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    April 3, 2008 9:17 am

    I’m glad you’re falling back in love w/ your old friend – rediscovering reading was the smartest thing I ever did! And PBS helps a ton!

    In related news, I have To Kill A Mockingbird up next on my list as well! Happy reading, buddy!

Leave a Reply

