Skip to content

This is why I work so hard

April 20, 2008

I started to add this to the bottom of my WW post, but it totally deserves its own post.

I had to buy a new pair of jeans today, and I was extra disgruntled about it because I didn’t want to buy any new jeans until I dropped from a size 10 to a size 8.

For the record, I started this quest more than anything because my fat jeans – my size 12s were getting a little too tight for comfort, and I was soooo close to needing size 14s. Wow, right (edit – size 14 on my small, short 5’3″ frame is just plain old no good)? The size I was from about age 15 until age 19 was a 7/8. I crept up to a 12 at my heaviest back then, and when I dropped 30ish pounds, I fit into a 5/6.

Back to today – I grumpily pulled a size 10 off the shelf and sulked into the dressing room. I buttoned them and was pleasantly surprised to find they fit comfortably. And if you pay any attention at all to how jeans fit brand new and clean versus how they after being worn for a bit, you know that jeans that fit comfortably brand new will be too big after a few hours of wear.

Knowing this, I asked Rob to get me a size 8, and guess what! THEY FIT! I didn’t even care that they weren’t on sale. I happily paid full price for my precious size 8 jeans. I finally feel like I’ve made major progess!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    April 20, 2008 8:59 pm

    Congrats sweetie!!!!!!!!! I went shopping yesterday for Capri’s b/c I desperately need a pair for the summer. I went to the buckle, and tried on a size 29. They fit just right … but knowing the buckle jeans – they stretch at least 1/2 to 1 size. So w/ that, I bought a 28! Woot woot! I don’t know if it really counts since it’s the jeans that stretch (maybe the sizing is off b/c of that), but I am happy to own a size 28!!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

