Skip to content

Just as the description promised

April 22, 2008

“Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil” by John Berendt was, indeed, intoxicating.

The nonfiction work reads like a juicy crime novel, and I had to keep reminding myself I was reading about true events and people. Berendt, a journalist, makes a perfect narrator. I’m not sure that many people could have experienced what he did first hand and still be able to pen an observant, detail-filled account of events with such a personal air without passing his own opinion of people and events through his written words. In fact, I feel as though I witnessed the whole story rather than reading the account of another’s experience.

I’m always afraid of giving too much away, so I’ll stop before I can even question myself.

After reading this book, I hope to make a trip down to Savannah soon while Berendt’s descriptions of places and people in Savannah are fresh in my mind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

