Skip to content

I have a confession

April 23, 2008

I’m not really following Weight Watchers anymore.

I don’t want to be tied to counting points (or anything else, for that matter) for the rest of my life. I know I won’t always write down everything I eat.

When I lost 30 pounds on Weight Watchers before, I was meticulous about counting my points all through my weight loss. But once the weight was gone and I maintained it a bit, I quit counting. The problem was, though, that I never learned what to eat. I chose my food solely on its points value.

This time around, points have taken a backseat to healthy food choices. I do still follow Weight Watchers’ general points plan, and I always have a rough idea of how many points I’m eating, but I’ve given up on eating numbers and am eating food instead.

A huge part of my decision to only loosely follow the Weight Watchers points has to do with what I was able to eat and lose weight last time versus what I’ve tried to eat still and have seen no success with. I’m afraid that *choke* age has started to affect my metabolism. During my first go-round with Weight Watchers, I could eat as many carbs and as much sodium as I wanted and still lose weight as long as I stayed in my points range. This time around, I’ve had to keep my carbs and sodium in check on a daily basis. If I have too many/too much, the weight sticks to me.

Before you walk away thinking I’m on a low-carb diet and that’s the key to losing weight, let me explain to you that I’m a carb addict. I eat a lot more carbs that what is recommended by the glorious food pyramid. When I say I’ve lowered my carb intake, I mean that I’ve lowered it to a normal-person level, far below my normal level. I’m by no means on a low-carb diet. Believe me. Been there, done that, hated it.

As for sodium, I ate lunch-meat sandwiches for lunch and frozen, prepared meals for dinner (think Healthy Choice, Lean Cuisine, Smart Ones). Those two meals right there have astronomic amounts of sodium. Sure, they make it easy to keep the calories and fat down, but the sodium creates bloat. Plus it’s not good to have that much sodium in your daily diet.

The other part of my decision has to do with my attention span and the amount of focus I can or want to put toward what I’m eating.

This has been a major life change for me. I’ve given up my past life as a lazy ass and focus more on being more active. I focus more on choosing healthier foods. And because I’m so strongly focusing on those things, plus work, hobbies and personal relationships, I don’t feel I have it in me to fully focus on calculating every piece of food I put in my mouth. It’s hard work. It’s exhausting. It’s time consuming. I know I won’t care to do it forever.

So instead of thinking only about points, I focus on healthy choices and healthy portions. I couldn’t have gotten to this point, though, without a program like Weight Watchers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

