Skip to content

Wow.

April 27, 2008

I just finished reading “The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger.

It’s times like these that I wish I could eloquently put my thoughts into writing, but it’s something I’ve always struggled with. I’m not sure if I feel too much for my words to explain or if I just don’t have it in me to find the right words to convey how much or what I’m feeling.

In short, this book was amazing. It’s a brilliant love story, a genre that I’m not quick to choose, but choosing to read this book is a decision I wish I had made sooner.

Too often I take life and love for granted. Too often I go through the motions of my day without appreciating the wonderful life I’m living and the amazing man I’m sharing my life with. At the same time, this book has made me feel guilty for not treasuring each moment of my life to this point and hopeful that I can, in the future, learn to truly enjoy and appreciate what I have.

This book is being made into a movie that is scheduled for release in December of this year. Part of me is anxious for its release so Rob can experience the story I just spent my week reading (since he’s allergic to reading books), but another part of me is reluctant because movies so often come disappointingly short of the books on which their stories are based. I hope the screenwriter and director fell in love with the story as much as I did and wish to preserve and present it as accurately as possible.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who loves, who has loved or is hopeful of love. I wouldn’t be surprised if “The Time Traveler’s Wife” becomes known as one of the great stories of our time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2008 1:40 pm

    I’m so glad you enjoyed TTW. I love this book and have read it 3 or 4 times in the last 2 years. I truly think it is one of the best novel written in our time (this far, of course). I hope you come back to again and again, as I have, because I think you get a little bit more from it each re-read. (BTW, it’s our book club book for June.)

  2. Jenny permalink
    April 27, 2008 1:50 pm

    Alethea, I have big plans to read this book over and over again. I can only imagine the details I’ve missed while trying to follow along the best I could without allowing myself to get too excited and move too fast, which I often do while reading such captivating stories.

    I have a feeling my copy is going to look abused five years from now!

Leave a Reply

