Skip to content

Personal pep talk

June 30, 2008

My first week back from vacation was beyond crazy. I didn’t even find time to unpack our suitcase until the following weekend, much less work out. Fine. That happens.

Last week was a bit of a recovery from traveling and the crazy first week back. I walked/ran Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, and I did the first part of my Biggest Loser Power Sculpt DVD on Saturday.

Apparently, my muscles have turned to mush after nearly three weeks away from the DVD, because I was so sore it hurt to sit yesterday, so I took the day off.

Last night, I had a horrible time falling and staying asleep and have felt like a zombie all day. I came home hungry and tired, so I’ve been dumb and have been grazing and lounging trying to build the energy to work out. At least I changed into workout clothes so I didn’t get too, too comfortable or let the evening pass by without thinking about working out.

Even now, after looking at what I typed in that last paragraph, I feel myself grasping for the next best excuse to stay stuck in a lazy rut. Not good, Batman. Not helping are the recent numbers showing up on the scale. I know it’s partly because of nature, but it also has a good bit to do with the fact that I just haven’t been as active (rather, as intensely active) as I was before our trip.

It’s so easy to give up, but that won’t do me any good. I’ve stuck to my plans for so long, now, and I’ve made some decent progress. I’ve now bought two pairs of size 8 pants, and I am able to wear clothes I haven’t worn in nearly three years, some longer. I have a couple pairs of pants that are just a smidge too tight and are waiting on another couple pounds to melt away, too.

I’m about halfway to my overall goal, and I’m feeling that halfway fatigue – hard core. I just need to pick myself back up, get rejuvenated and stop thinking about how nice it’d be to not work out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Speed permalink
    June 30, 2008 6:37 pm

    Go read my comments that I posted on BA’s site.

    Don’t make me come up there!

  2. Jenny permalink
    June 30, 2008 7:51 pm

    FYI, I logged off here after writing this entry and worked out. Sometimes telling myself how foolish I am is a good kick in the pants.

  3. Jenny permalink
    June 30, 2008 7:57 pm

    And also, for the record, I had no plans to quit. It just sounds so much nicer than staying on track sometimes. But I’ve come too far to quit just because I’m feeling lazy!

  4. Speed permalink
    July 1, 2008 6:58 am

    GOOD! I didn’t really think you’d quit. You’re not the quittin’ kind.

Leave a Reply

