Skip to content

New breakfast

July 15, 2008

After some thought and math, I decided to switch up my breakfast and drop my morning smoothie. At roughly 6 WW pts., it was just too “expensive” for my first meal.

Breakfast used to be a no-brainer for me, but I’ve discovered I need a good amount of protein and fiber in the morning to keep me going through lunch. Otherwise, I get a snack attack, and that’s no good.

Today’s breakfast was something of an experiment. We’ll see how it holds up for me through the day.

1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
120 cal.
0g fat
0g fiber
22g protein

3/4ish cup of raspberries (the bag gives the serving by thawed berries, I started with frozen)
80 cal.
0g fat
9g fiber
2g protein

1 tbsp. reduced-sugar strawberry preserves
25 cal.
0g fat
0g fiber
0g protein

15g Trader Joe’s high-fiber fruit and nut cereal (1/2 serving)
45 cal.
0.75g fat
3.5g fiber
1g protein

I mixed it all together in a parfait-like concoction. I used the preserves to sweeten up the yogurt, as it’s really tart and not all that tasty on its own.

Greek yogurt mixture
270 cal.
12.5g fiber
0.75g fat
25g protein

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Speed permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:19 pm

    Why the greek yogurt vs a low-fat or fat free regular variety? Just curious if it’s lower cal. I’ve never tried greek yogurt and I’m always up for expanding my pallet.

  2. Jenny permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:28 pm

    It has a ton more protein than the regular stuff. All other nonfat yogurt I’ve seen has somewhere between 8-10g of protein per serving, whereas the Greek yogurt has 22g per cup.

    So says the label from my Trader Joe’s container, at least.

  3. Speed permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:35 pm

    WOW! That is a lot of protein. Perhaps I’ll give it a whirl!

  4. Jenny permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:40 pm

    That’s exactly what I thought! Warning: it does taste really weird and gave my mouth a really dry feeling without anything added in. After I broke down the berries some and stirred in the preserves, it was actually pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

