Skip to content

Day 1, First Day to 5K

July 23, 2008

I’m using a different podcast than the “famous” C25K podcasts by Robert Ullery since those are broken into several tracks and jack up my Nike + iPod system. Instead, I’m using Podrunner Intervals and am starting with their First Day to 5K program. I actually like Podrunner Intervals better than Ullery’s podcast. There are no voiceovers and they use better music that’s less irritating.

For anyone interested, Podrunner Intervals also offers 8K and 10K training programs.

And you know what? I did the first workout this morning with no problem. I mean, it was crazy humid, so I was dripping sweat at the end, but I ran through all the running intervals with no problems. I think I can do this!

Why haven’t I before now? I didn’t want to start a running program until I bought running shoes. And I didn’t want to buy any old running shoes, but I wanted to get fitted for the right pair for my feet. That’s more expensive (though I think I found a way around the extra expense). I didn’t want to drop big money on shoes until something monumental happened, like my reaching my 10-percent weight-loss goal, for example, which I’ve been hovering near for, oh, MONTHS.

I just gave up, though. I had bought some shoes that I roughly fitted to my feet (using Runner’s World’s recommendations) to use on the elliptical. They haven’t been worn lately, though, because I’ve been rather bored by the elliptical lately. What’s nice is they haven’t shown any wear because you don’t *really* move your feet much on an elliptical. So these have become my “new” running shoes. I still plan to get fitted, but I’m being stubborn and waiting till I hit that weight goal (148 lbs., by the way).

So there you have it. I’m excited to change up my workout routine some, and I’m excited to see if I can become a runner. Some friends are planning to do a 5K/10K race this fall, so I might be joining them. Who knows?

Up next: Day 2 of 1D5K on Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristin Davis permalink
    July 23, 2008 8:56 am

    YAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!! I’m so excited for you 🙂 5k in September???

Leave a Reply

