Skip to content

I'm still here.

August 14, 2008

Quick update:

New job: It’s going well. I have a ton to learn (and am learning a ton) before I feel less like a dumbass and more like I belong. Also, I’ve been busy working long hours – and I’ve really been busy! By the time I leave work, the last thing I want to do is try and form thoughts into cohesive blog entries, so I apologize for the lack of posts lately. I’d like to say I go home and crash, but I usually log onto my home computer for some more job-like practice. I think I’m going cross-eyed!

Diet: I’m still writing down everything I eat and calculating the points, but I just don’t have time to translate it all onto the computer. And since I use an old-fashioned notebook, it’s not like I can just press a button or two and just show you what I’m tracking. Well, I suppose I could scan it in, but be honest: Do you really care? Just know that I’m staying on track and am doing my best. I will say I’ve cut down a lot on snacking because I’m crazy-busy so many more hours in the day. I just don’t have time to think about snacking. It’s a nice side-effect.

Exercise: Umm, yeah. This should just say “lack there-of” because I’ve had NO time to exercise. I haven’t been able to figure out my new schedule much yet and am left scratching my head regarding when I should do what. Unfortunately, exercise has taken a back burner. I hate it, too, because I’m getting sore from not using my muscles and joints as much as I was. I really do feel like a lazy lump. I need to figure things out ASAP and get back on the bandwagon.

More in-depth, I took last week off the 1D5K program I’m following because it was just too darn hot for me. I ran Saturday morning when it was nice and cool and just did another day of W2D2, which is where I left off. I don’t have the numbers handy, but I did well considering I hadn’t worked out in a week. I finished the whole thing without cheating. Now I just have to do it again. And again.

That said, I don’t know if I’m going to be anywhere near ready for a 5K in a little more than a month, considering I haven’t even started week 3 of the training program. I’m not throwing in the towel just yet, but until I get back into some sort of routine, my plans to do it just aren’t as set in stone as they were. Even though they were never concrete to begin with. You know.

Weight: I’m hanging out right around 154ish. I’m up, but I know it’s because I’m not burning anywhere near enough calories. Thankfully I’m down from last week and have sat right around 154 for about a week now. So maybe I’m not doing too much damage – just not making any progress. It’s frustrating, but it is what it is. I have enough to stress about right now to make worrying about stupid numbers a priority. And hey! All my clothes are fitting just fine.

Life in general: Last week was crazy. It was hot, hot, hot here; I started my new job; and my cousin, Traci, and her two girls were in town visiting. We spent nearly every evening hanging out with them and then followed them to Myrtle Beach on Saturday. We stayed the night and most of Sunday and drove home Sunday evening. It was a nice break from normal life, and the drive wasn’t bad at all. Rob and I declared it’d be an easy day trip, even one we’d like to bring Lucky on. She needs some beach time, too!

I have a bunch of pictures from last week and the weekend to edit and post, so keep an eye out for those. If I can uncross my eyes long enough to do it, that is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

