Skip to content

Mixed bag of nuts

August 26, 2008

The job: I’m leaning more toward loving it now, though I’m still feeling behind and like I should be in a remedial section or something. That’s something that gets better with time (and it already has), though, so I’m trying to embrace it as meaning I just get to learn more new, cool stuff rather than focusing on the fact that I’m job-stupid.

The weight: I’m still hanging out in the 154s, though I did see a couple 153 days last week. This weekend was somewhat of a bust, though, so I’m actually grateful to just be in the 154s and not higher.

The eating: I’m still doing well (aside from this weekend – damn you and your blueberry muffins, Kristin!!). I’m switching up my daily standards, though. I’ve started having oatmeal with half a banana and blueberries for breakfast (since bananas help to keep cramping away – crucial for me with my running), the Greek yogurt combo for lunch and my string cheese and apple as snacks for the rest of the day. Sometimes I need those snacks, like when I work late, and sometimes I just take them home and refrigerate until the next day.

The running: I should have started Week 4 of 1D5K this morning, but I didn’t wake up in time. The current plan is to run (possibly in the rain) this evening before it gets too dark since the temperature isn’t supposed to leave the 70s today. It’s humid as hell, but I’ll get over it.

I completed Week 3 in the planned amount of time (three running days with a day in between of rest). The first day didn’t go so hot, but I’m blaming it on the Japanese I ate a couple hours before the workout. I think I was close to vomiting – I had that cramping stomach feeling, where it just feels like your stomach is tightening up into a tiny, hard ball, forcing out whatever it might be holding. There was no puke, though, and I finished the workout without cheating. Days 2 and 3 were much better. The only not-fun feeling was in my legs, and they were just tired. That’s a good thing, though, because I know they were getting a good workout. Jelly legs was my only complaint – other than that, I think I could have run further.

My current focus is on slowing my happy ass down. My running paces have been sitting in the 9ish-minute/mile range, and I have a feeling that is too fast. I doubt I’ll be able to maintain that speed at longer distances (because let’s face it, I haven’t been running for very long spans). It’s really hard to slow down, though, especially with a fast beat thumping through my earphones. My body automatically wants to keep the beat, so I’m having to turn the music into background noise. It’s a lot of work. 🙂

In other news, I’m excited to be traveling back home to Ohio this weekend. We’ll be spending the majority of the weekend racing (or in my case, watching the races) go-karts. We’ll also celebrate my dad’s birthday, and I’ll get to meet my parents’ new dog, who seems like such a sweetheart. I’m also waiting on vacation time to be approved, then I’ll be booking plane tickets for a visit back home at the beginning of October for some extra time to hang out there and for the NKOTB concert.

In other, other news, I’m obviously still struggling with my time management. It’s hard to make the best out of what seems to be the few hours I’m not working or sleeping. I’m proud that I got my runs in last week, but I’m being slack on so many other things. I need to figure this out fast!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

