Skip to content

'My broken dreams'

October 10, 2008

During my trip to BGSU’s homecoming, I was fortunate to have the opportunity to attend Cedar Creek Church, where I first truly developed my faith as a Christian. The message Pastor Lee Powell spoke on Sunday has been weighing on my mind since hearing it, especially since it followed a related conversation I had just days before.

There’s no point in me trying to elaborate or even help explain the message, so here are the notes Cedar Creek has provided on it, broken down into three lessons to learn from the message:

Lesson 1
“The Good News of the Gospel is not that God will provide a way to make life easier and better. We will, however, be empowered to draw close to God and love others well, and do both for one central purpose, to glorify God, to make him look good to any who watch us live.

‘…that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.’ John 17:3

Lesson 2
When God seems most absent from us, he is doing his most important work in us.

‘And I am sure that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on that day when Jesus Christ comes back again.’ Philippians 1:6

‘I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.’ John 16:33

Lesson 3
It isn’t always good to be blessed with the good things of life. Bad times provide an opportunity to know God, which blessings can never provide.

‘…whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy.’ James 1:2

‘Sorrow is better than laughter, for sadness has a refining influence on us.’ Ecclesiastes 7:3

Credit to Dr. Larry Crabb, author of Shattered Dreams, for this outline and much of the material contained in today’s message.”

Watch the full message from Pastor Lee Powell here. Under the video viewer, click on Week 3 My Broken Dreams.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2008 8:09 am

    Awesome.

  2. Sarah permalink
    October 13, 2008 1:13 pm

    Did you check out the new church this weekend?

    And I love this post.

  3. mered19 permalink
    October 26, 2008 1:03 pm

    I still haven’t watched the video yet, but I need to …. I love this blog entry! So incredibly true and uplifting.

Leave a Reply

