Skip to content

OMG-SFG chicken pot pie

October 14, 2008

Do you know my vocab well enough to figure out those letters?

Back to what’s important, this chicken pot pie. I saw the recipe (and delicious-looking photos – I’ll explain why I’m not providing my own) on a tasty little blog, Brown Eyed Baker. The recipes are rarely McSkinny, but they always look McTasty. And so I was sucked into making a definitely McFatty but totally McTasty meal for dinner last night.

I set out on my grocery expedition yesterday after making a detailed list of what I needed. Halfway to the store, I realized I left the list at home. Awesome. The rest of my drive was spent (probably not paying attention to driving) trying to remember everything I had written down. Once I got to the store, I was on a Supermarket-Sweep-like mission to get what I had remembered (which turned out to be the whole list – go me!) before it escaped my memory. Unfortunately, SuperTarget didn’t agree with my plans, even though I had gathered all my needed ingredients up to the very last and very crucial ingerdiant – the “pie” in my chicken pot pie. I planned to make one big pot pie instead of the four little ones the recipe calls for. Unfortunately, Target was totally out of puff pastry sheets, but they did have puff pastry rounds (6 in a box). Faced with the decision to hope the six rounds would somehow merge together in the baking process and become one blob of puffed pastry or taking my chances that a) another grocery store would have puff pastry sheets and b) I wouldn’t have to spend a fortune because their prices are higher, I opted to take my chances with the six individual pastry pieces.

Yeah, it didn’t work so well. The tops of the pastries browned, but the bottoms remained doughy. So that’s why there are no pictures. The “pie” didn’t really work. However, the “chicken pot” turned out famously, and even Rob, who was super wary of chicken pot pie (I’m sure he was picturing some sort of school cafeteria slop), absolutely loved it. I think I counted him making three trips back to the stove for more.

The recipe was wonderfully simple, and I can’t wait to try it again with a full sheet of puff pastry. Don’t worry. I plan to buy it the next time I see it, even if I don’t have everything else to make the chicken pot pie right then.

Oh, yeah. I think I over-eyeballed what would amount to 1/2 cup of all the veggies and ended up with about a full cup of each veggie. It worked out well, though, and I think it was better with the extra veggies.

Chicken Pot Pie
(Source: Williams Sonoma)

8 Tbs. (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into ½-inch cubes
½ cup all-purpose flour
4 cups chicken stock
½ tsp. chopped fresh thyme (I used 1/8 tsp dried thyme)
1 bay leaf
½ cup chopped yellow onions
½ cup chopped celery
½ cup peeled and chopped carrots
½ cup chopped white button mushrooms (blech – I “just say no” to fungus)
½ cup chopped red-skinned potatoes
1 cup chopped cooked chicken
½ cup cooked fresh or frozen peas
Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
Four 6-inch squares frozen puff pastry
1 egg, beaten with 1 tsp. water
Preheat an oven to 400ºF.

In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter. Add the flour and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture smells fragrant and nutty, 1 to 2 minutes. Slowly add the stock, whisking until smooth, and bring to a boil. Add the thyme, bay leaf, onions, celery, carrots and mushrooms and cook until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes. Add the potatoes, chicken, peas, salt and pepper and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and let cool for 5 minutes. Remove the bay leaf and discard.

Divide the filling among 4 ovenproof bowls and place on a baking sheet. Brush the puff pastry squares with the egg mixture. Brush the rims of the bowls with water. Place 1 pastry square on top of each bowl, pressing lightly on the edges. Bake until the pastry is puffed and golden brown, about 20 minutes. Let rest for 5 minutes before serving. Serves 4.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 12:38 pm

    So glad that you enjoyed the pot pie!! And I had to laugh at Supermarket Sweep – I used to love that show! 🙂

Leave a Reply

