Skip to content

Bah. Humbug.

December 12, 2008

I try really, really hard to avoid posting anything about work on here. I rather like being employed, and I prefer to remain with my company.

But since I’m confident this is nothing I wouldn’t share with any co-workers, here goes nothing.

I’m pissed. Work is seriously cramping my holiday cheer. In fact, it’s pretty nonexistent. I normally wouldn’t mind working such long hours (it looks like I’m nearing 70 for this week alone), but during this season? It’s hell.

Christmas is my favorite time of year. We finally decorated tree and the inside of our house on Monday, but it was done from 8-12 at night, and it was done in a rush. Sure, we had Christmas music playing in the background as we worked, but we were on a deadline since it was quite possible it’d be my only good chunk of time to do it.

Other than that, I’ve been getting home close to 10 p.m., too tired to even think about writing Christmas cards, baking/cooking Christmas cookies, watch ABC Family’s 25 days of Christmas, etc. I haven’t even had time to shop. I’m really starting to worry about getting Rob’s gift in time. I already told him he has to shop for all our other gifts, so I just have to worry about his. But I just don’t know when I’ll have the time (and I can’t order it online – that’s all I’m saying).

I’m grumpy because I spend so much time in my cubicle. I’m grumpy because I’m missing out on all the holiday fun I normally enjoy so much. And being grumpy makes it that much more difficult to force Christmas cheer when I finally do get away from work. I look at other people enjoying their Christmases and growl inside because I don’t have time to enjoy mine. Everything looks Christmasy – it just doesn’t feel Christmasy.

I know. Bitch, bitch, bitch. Whine, whine, whine. I really am thankful for having a job in the first place, even more so that it’s so secure that there is extra work (and overtime). But I’d be more grateful if it weren’t the Christmas season.

If you’re one of my friends or family who would normally expect a Christmas card from us, please don’t take it personally if (when) you don’t receive one. Trust me, I hate it more than you do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

