Skip to content

IT, by Stephen King

October 13, 2009

I know I’ve only seen clips from the movie, but I thought I had read the book – or at least started to – as a teen. As soon as I realized this wasn’t the case, I added “IT” to my TBR pile and decided to pick it up last week when a good scare sounded like the perfect way to get my mind off real-life worries.

It was good, but – I hope this doesn’t make me a psychopath – I didn’t find it scary. Like, at all. I kept waiting fir something really scary, but it just didn’t happen for me. I had more complex fears than clowns or mummies as a kid, like It said adults have and why kids were better targets, so I wonder if that has anything to do with my lack of being scared.

I did find the idea behind attacking kids because they were easy prey to be sick and twisted, but it was more of an observance than a reaction.

I liked the book; I just didn’t love it. I picked it up hoping for a good scare but was disappointed when that isn’t what I got. I probably would have loved it had it scared me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

