Skip to content

I survived!

October 14, 2009
tags: ,

Disclaimer: This entry contains information regarding our adventures with trouble trying to conceive. Feel free to skip over if you wish to avoid too much information regarding my reproductive parts. I won’t blame you. I’d rather skip this stuff, too.

I didn’t feel the slightest hint of flames, so needless to say, I didn’t encounter Satan while on that exam table.

It hurt, though, and it hurt a rather lot. I felt the catheter go in, which was painful. It felt like someone was pinching me on the inside. Then the cramping started. I assume that’s when the dye was injected. It got worse for a bit, they said it was done, the catheter was removed, and the cramping subsided fairly quick.

Not a bad experience. Not something I’m bouncing around hoping to do again, but it was basically NBD.

The results? I didn’t have any tubal blockages, and my parts are all as they should be. My uterus’s shape is a little different. At first, the doctor thought I might have a two-sided (aka double) uterus, but another shot showed it’s just a different shape. She said it shouldn’t cause any issues with getting pregnant, so that’s a relief.

Normal uterus shape:

My quick Photoshop version of what the X-ray showed of mine, though the dip at the top is actually a tad more extreme:

Next up? Bloodwork and an ultrasound on Sunday morning to check hormone levels and follicle growth, both which we’re hopeful will indicate my body is ready to ovulate soon – the first time since at least February if not much, much longer.

But first, PJs, the couch and my book are calling my name. The Valium and Vicodin didn’t exactly knock me on my ass like I was expecting/hoping, but I’m definitely feeling sluggish. Combined with rainy and cool weather and some mild cramps, and it’s the perfect day to visit Couch City.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alethea permalink
    October 14, 2009 3:14 pm

    Glad it wasn’t so bad and that everything looks good. Enjoy the sluggish druggy feeling. 🙂

    • October 15, 2009 2:33 pm

      Ok so now I read your next post – glad it went well, looking forward to Sunday for you!

Leave a Reply

