Skip to content

‘The Pioneer Woman Cooks’ by Ree Drummond

October 23, 2009

Thanks to Goodreads and HarperCollins for my advance copy!

I don’t want to jump the gun and give the book a star rating before I make any of the recipes, but I anticipate a five-star rating on this one.

It just may be my favorite cookbook in my possession. Each recipe has several step-by-step photos. I’m a visual learner, and I’m forever second-guessing myself when trying a new recipe I’ve never seen done (either in the process or at the end) before.

Hey, cookbook people! Lots of pictures? Two thumbs up!

Along with my love for the multitude of food pictures, the book also comes full of personal photos and stories from The Pioneer Woman & Co. If the kitchen is the heart of the home and food is good for the soul, a cookbook that shares the author’s personality and stories behind the recipes is the next best thing to learning recipes first-hand from a loved one.

Too many cookbooks feel detached and cold, which doesn’t exactly make me excited to return to them.

Because of my current dietary circumstances, the amazing potato recipes and the entire section dedicated to sweets made my heart hurt. Everything looks so amazing that I might actually spend time adapting the recipes to meet my needs rather than skipping over them.

My one and only complaint thus far is that my eyes don’t understand the sequence in which the photographed steps are laid out. My natural instinct is to read from left to right, top to bottom. The book uses a top to bottom, left to right format. It isn’t a huge deal, but it definitely disrupts my reading flow.

The book goes on sale October 27. Make sure to also check out The Pioneer Woman online for more awesome recipes, photos and stories.

Now, which recipe do I start with?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 11:31 pm

    Omg I didn’t know that you had this! I’m happy to hear good things, I just pre-ordered this as my bday gift last night!

Trackbacks

  1. How do you spell the egg version of ‘excellent?’ « What the blog?

Leave a Reply

