Skip to content

CCCs, I miss you so.

October 26, 2009

I first laid eyes on the wondrous Cheesy Chicken Cups on one of The Nest’s message boards (hey, nesties! what up?!) a few years ago. It was love at first sight, Internet. I made these bad boys at least once a week and adored every second of our cheesy-biscuity love affair.

Then the husband banned them from his dinner plate, saying he was sick of them, couldn’t possibly look at another one, and no, that doesn’t mean dinner should include a blindfold. Since I was quite sure I’d turn fatty if forced to eat my way through an entire batch on my own, I gave them up.

I actually probably couldn’t eat them now with a clear conscience because of my low-GI diet (God, I hate that word – it’s in reference to how I eat, not a short-term, lose-weight plan, mkay?). But that doesn’t mean I don’t miss them and think of them longingly.

And you better believe once I’m able to procreate and the child has teeth with which to nom on chicken and biscuits (and broccoli! I add broccoli since it makes it healthy.), Cheesy Chicken Cups will make a stunning and joyous comeback to my tastebuds. And you know what? It’s a sure bet that comeback will be a success. We don’t subscribe to the Britney Spears School of Thought (Brit, thought – har, har) in this house.

I never did get a good photo of my own CCCs. You’ll have to use your imagination or your Googles. But I won’t let that keep me from sharing the recipe:

1 can buttermilk biscuits (10 biscuits)
1 cooked chicken breast, cut into small pieces
1 can Healthy Request cream of chicken soup
2/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 TBS dried parsley flakes
1/2 tsp black pepper
Optional add-ins I’ve used: chopped broccoli, chopped cauliflower, cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place each biscuit into a muffin pan and press the biscuits to the bottom and up the sides to form cups. In a bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Mix well. Spoon evenly into cups.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until filling is bubbly and biscuit cups are golden brown.

Now, go enjoy some for me. Tell them I miss them and hope to see them again soon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Charch permalink
    October 26, 2009 7:56 pm

    I miss them too. My husband told me he was sick of them as well, but I might just make them this week, eat one for you, and tell him he can make his own dinner.

  2. Poeia permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:13 am

    I do something similar. Brown some ground turkey (w/ onion & garlic, salt & pepper). Add BBQ sauce to it once cooked. Spoon into biscuits in the muffin pan, then top with cheese, and bake those mo ‘fos as per whomp biscuit instructions.

    I shall try yours next week.

  3. Jess permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:23 pm

    I am so totally making those, and the BBQ version (thanks, Poeia!)

Trackbacks

  1. 74/365 « What the blog?

Leave a Reply

