Skip to content

Just what I (don’t) need!

October 26, 2009

I cleaned out the closet today, which actually means I went through the pile of discarded clothes in the clothesbasket and went through the stacks on my closet-hangy-stacker-things (highly technical term). Now I have a big ol’ pile of clothes I’d like to find *some* use for. Of course, I could donate them to Goodwill or the Salvation Army or someplace similar, but I feel a bit behind the times dropping off my collection of bubble-gum fashions from Aeropostale.

For the record, I fit in them. I just feel like a giant poser now that I’m a super mature woman of 27. I’m not very serious, but I do like it when people treat me like an adult. I know – you can’t have your cake and eat it, too, but what in hell is the point of having cake if it can’t be eaten?

Oh, look at that. I got off topic. Again.

So, yeah. What I don’t need. While taking my daily (hourly sometimes) cruise around blogville, I saw the perfect answer to what I should do with all those clothes on dooce.com. I should make a dog bed! Look, Coco loves hers!

So here I sit, staring at dog duvet covers on the Internet. I want one of these. They’re only $20 (it’s great to have a small dog and two cats), and I can stuff all those extra shirts in there. And since the clothes smell like me (and whew, buddy, do they smell! just kidding. or am i?), maybe, JUST MAYBE, my animals would choose that cozy bed that smells like me to my actual lap. I squirm. I shoo them off my lap frequently. I put books on top of them while they occupy my lap. Wouldn’t you take that cozy good-smelling bed over a squirmy lap that requires you to double as a book stand?

I would.

Too bad the husband will look at me like I’ve sprouted sparkly antlers if I suggest spending twenty very important dollars on a dog bed.

If only I could sew (or had anything but needles and thread to sew with – yes, I’m a spoiled modern type).

This is why I don’t shop online. Curses for being tricked by dooce!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    October 26, 2009 5:32 pm

    Dude, I saw that this morning and was like WANT! We do not need a new dog bed at. all. Grrr Dooce!

  2. October 26, 2009 10:07 pm

    I have a sewing machine you can come over and use!!

Leave a Reply

