Skip to content

How do you spell the egg version of ‘excellent?’

November 3, 2009

Eggsellent? That looks dumb.

In any case, it’s a moo point because my first attempt at making a recipe from my free, advance copy of “The Pioneer Woman Cooks” fell short of excellent, though it did involve eggs.

I started with a recipe for something I’ve wanted to learn how to make for a long time: Egg in a Hole, or as we call it, Egg in a Basket (that’s what I’ve seen it called most often on menus, at least). Rob is a big fan of the handy breakfast, but I’ve never attempted, thinking there had to be some magic trick to keeping the egg in the toast.

Pioneer Woman Ree Drummond says it’s simple, but I must be lacking some magical egg-making abilities. I long ago declared the scrambled variety my favorite (with cheese and Red Hot, please), and they totally are. But to be honest, they earned the coveted favorite spot because I can’t flip an egg without breaking it, then I always turn it into a scrambled egg.

So.

I did everything as instructed, but when it came time to flip the creations, both eggs (tried for two at once) pulled away from the toast and looked about to break. Terrified of a broken egg, I let them cook a little longer.

I waited too long.

Instead of that nice runny yolk (which rather makes me gag now, but it was HEAVEN as a kid, and Rob still loves it), I plopped two rubbery-looking things in butter-saturated pieces of toast on Rob’s breakfast plate. He swears they were fine, but I saw him shove some solid yolk off to the no-touch zone on the edge of his plate, so I know he didn’t love every bit of them, which is fine.

This is not an experience by which to judge the cookbook, seeing as my remedial skills at egg-flipping are most likely guilty for the dish’s demise, but I felt obliged to share the experience.

And! Lucky for you, the recipe is available for free on Pioneer Woman’s site. If you like these but have never made them before, try it out for yourself. If you are more successful in your attempt than me, PLEASE let me in on your egg-flipping secret.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 3:06 pm

    I was more successful, but I can’t really tell you what I did differently. What are you using to flip them? I make sure I have a nice wide spatula that is almost as big as the piece of toast.

    Also, I only do one at a time to make sure I have enough space for flipping. I have a flipping handicap too and eggs in a hole is the only way I can make eggs over easy.

    • Jenny permalink*
      November 3, 2009 4:11 pm

      I’d say my spatula is of average width. Perhaps more room would help, but the egg was pulling away even as I got the spatula under to wiggle it free from the pan – not even mid-flip!

      Maybe I need more butter. (I’m still learning my semi-new SS pans.)

  2. Laura permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:04 pm

    Eggs in a window (as I call them) are my FAVORITE way to make eggs– with Red Hot on top as well. 🙂 Next time you are in town and my house is a disease-free zone we will have an eggs in a window 101 (basket, hole, what have you). My secret: using a biscuit cookie cutter to make a perfect hole.

  3. November 4, 2009 12:26 am

    I made these last week – before I got my cookbook. I had the same problem with trying to flip them, I ended up waiting until they were setup more and therefore didn’t have the gooey egg thing going on either. I have no idea how PW does it!

Leave a Reply

