Skip to content

‘Needful Things,’ by Stephen King

November 4, 2009

I took entirely too long to read this book. I kept hoping to get sucked in by the story, but it never happened. I ended up finishing for the sake of finishing, but I never got past being bored with it. The book’s theme – the dangers of placing great wealth on one’s material possessions – was an interesting concept, but I think the lesson could have been portrayed in fewer words. There were a lot of details and characters I could have done without. Likewise, the number of characters and different points of view made it difficult for me to strongly connect with even one character. I prefer books with characters that make me want to spend time with them. This book lacked that.

I apologize for the choppy, disjointed and boring review. I tried to turn out something that made sense, but I fear I fell short.

I’m just happy to be done with this one.

Up next: “The Secret Life of Bees,” by Sue Monk Kidd

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

