Skip to content

Under pressure!

November 5, 2009

I just *knew* this would happen. I’d tell the world about my comittment to NaBloPoMo, then I’d have severe writer’s block or forget to write until 9:30 p.m. when I want to do nothing more than curl up with a book. Or both. Sonofabitch! I have to dig in the reserve pile for this one.

It’s old news to some but new news to others. I am fortunate to be the daughter of a retired kindergarten teacher. I’m even more fortunate to be the daughter of a retired kindergarten teacher who bequeathed her classroom library to me when she retired.

I finally got around to: 1. moving the boxes and boxes of books from my bedroom at my parents’ home in Ohio to our house in North Carolina (only five years after moving to NC); 2. unpacking them; and 3. cataloging them.

That’s right. I cataloged them. All 800 books, give or take a few I didn’t feel like manually entering information for (some date back to the 1960s! I love it!), are recorded under a Goodreads, kept separate from my leisure-reading account.

Why commit such tomfoolery? you ask. Why not? I don’t know about you, but I can’t remember 800 book titles, and I’m not a giant fan of spending unnecessary money. To avoid buying repeat copies of books I already own (because, yes, I do want more than 800 children’s books), I logged them all in at Goodreads.

Not only am I over-the-moon excited for our future kids to have their own home library, I adore children’s books. I love how simply sweet, funny and informative they can be, and MAN, do some have the most beautiful illustrations. I could just stare in awe at some pages.

Feel free to peruse my collection on Goodreads. The link is over there, on the right side of your screen. I haven’t rated or reviewed any, but I hope to get around to that at some point. In the meantime, they’re all books I have read and approve of. Some are books that are most appropriate for kids ages 4-7ish, but many are appropriate and enjoyable for all ages.

And, for a crappy visual aid – my guest-room closet-turned-library:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alethea permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:38 pm

    I’m so madly jealous. If we still live in NC when our kids are old enough to appreciate such awesomeness, I will be coming to visit. A lot.

  2. sarah permalink
    November 6, 2009 4:27 am

    I love this!

    Can’t wait to look through the collection.

  3. silly34 permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:34 am

    OMG. That is amazing. ::jealous::

Leave a Reply

