Skip to content

Halp!

December 29, 2009
tags:

This … thing. I like it. It’s super soft and has cute pockets at both ends. But is it a scarf? Is it a hat with long ears? How does it work?

Rob bought this for me for Christmas, but it didn’t come with instructions. He claims he saw people wearing them while he was out and about shopping, but he didn’t take notes on how it operates.

This probably wouldn’t be a problem for a normal girl, but up until last year, I was still wrapping my scarves round and round my neck with a clumsy knot until I finally figured out how to loop, swoop and pull in a fashionable (maybe?) way.

But this? It confuses me.

Please help me wear it, and please help me not look like a droopy-eared dope.

(If it’s a fashion mistake, like, say, a snuggie, let me down gently. My fashion-challenged husband bought it for his more-fashion-challenged wife as a sweet, thoughtful gift.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 8:02 pm

    Okay, these pictures crack me up.

    I don’t live in scarf-land, so I’m not sure. But I do think it’s cute, whatever it is. πŸ™‚

  2. December 29, 2009 8:23 pm

    I think it’s cute, too! I think the third picture (taken from the side) is the cutest. Looks cute and warm! πŸ™‚

  3. December 29, 2009 8:26 pm

    I think it’s for wearing with a jacket that doesn’t have a hood. Maybe? The third picture looks the best IMO.

    I don’t know about it being a fashion mistake. If you like it, rock it!

  4. speed permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:15 pm

    With option 3 how do you get your hands in your pockets? Maybe the pockets are functional for an ipod or a cell phone?

  5. December 29, 2009 9:21 pm

    Adorable! I want one! Oh wait, I live in Florida. It’s only 50 and we’re all freezing, but clearly it’s not cold enough for something that cozy.

    I like options 1 and 3. Before I saw the pictures (which I LOVE) I was going to suggest option 1, but 3 is cuter! I think both are fine depending on your mood.

    (Oo, glad I read the whole NBC thread before I posted this…I guess 1 does look a little like a wool bikini…but it wouldn’t stay flat like that allllll day.)

  6. Mere permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:40 pm

    IDK but you are super cute! hehe πŸ™‚

  7. Ashley T permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:53 pm

    middle picture for sure! Stunning daaaaaling.

  8. Jenny permalink*
    December 29, 2009 10:31 pm

    Confession: I tried to take a photo of me winking with the scarf-hat, but I discovered that I just look really squinty in both eyes when I wink.

    Sassy-pic FAIL.

    Oh, and I won’t be winking again anytime soon. I seriously looked like a tool.

  9. Sarah permalink
    December 29, 2009 10:58 pm

    Oh please, please, please, wear it the way you have it in the middle picture! I am cracking up right now!! I know we usually end up with the same things, but I must admit that that is one thing I do not own or know how to opporate. Best of luck Bestie!

    • Jenny permalink*
      December 30, 2009 1:23 am

      Bestie! I had a feeling this would be the entry to bring you out of hiding. I knew you’d either laugh at my silliness or tell me how to work this thing, you being the hat diva you are.

  10. December 30, 2009 12:56 pm

    It’s very fashion-forward indeed! I think #1 is the closest, and like Joanna said, probably looks good w/ a jacket. I used to have a scarf w/ hand pockets and it ROCKED! πŸ™‚ It was very functional

  11. December 30, 2009 2:11 pm

    lmao. I love you. Okay first off, you definitely lost weight, and look awesome. Second, you are like Jamie! Ye canna wink! Third, I like the picture labeled 2, which is actually the first of the three.

Leave a Reply

