Skip to content

2010 Debut Author Challenge

January 2, 2010

I told my buddy Jessica a while back that I’d hop on board the 2010 challenge she blogged about joining.

In true Jenny style, I’ve been dragging my feet to actually join the challenge. I’m not one to plan what books I’m going to read much further than what the library has ready for me to pick up or books in a series.

Finally, two days into the new year, I’m stepping up to join.

The Story Siren is running the challenge and has all the info, including a page on which to sign up if you’re interested in participating.

So what, exactly, is the challenge?

  • The objective is to read a set number of Young Adult or Middle Grade novels from debut authors published this year.
  • Anyone can join, you donā€™t need a blog to participate.
  • The challenge will run from Jan. 1, 2010, through Dec. 31, 2010.

Without further ado, here are my 12 picks*:

“The Deathday Letter,” by Shaun Hutchinson
“Shadow Hills,” by Anastasia Hopcus
“The Mockingbirds,” by Daisy Whitney
“Shooting Kabul,” by N.H. Senzai
“13 to Life: A Werewolf’s Tale,” by Shannon Delaney
“A Match Made in High School,” by Kristin Walker
“What They Always Tell Us,” by Martin Wilson
“The Tension of Opposites,” by Kristin McBride
“The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin,” by Josh Berk
“Nabbed: A Newspaper Mystery,” by Michele Corriel
“A Love Story: Starring My Dead Best Friend,” by Emily Horner
“Losing Faith,” by Denise Jaden

* I may end up selecting different books as the year progresses. I’m lazy and didn’t bother to cross-check publication dates, so I might have chosen 12 books all set to be published in Dec. 2010 for all I know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 3:00 pm

    Yay! šŸ˜€

  2. January 3, 2010 2:33 pm

    YAY!! Thanks for signing up for the debut author challenge! It’s going to be so much fun! You have an awesome list! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

