Skip to content

15/365

January 15, 2010

Hoo, boy! I am in a humdinger of a mood this evening. I’ve decided this piss-poor mood is vry srs bsns, so I’m attacking with the big dogs: beer and Friends.

The beer: Highland Brewing Company‘s Black Mocha Stout. It’s brewed in North Carolina, and going local is always cool. It’s doubly cool because of the Scottish heritage, which I am obsessed with thanks to the Outlander series.

This beer makes me happy for two reasons:

  1. It’s delicious. Highland’s site describes it as such: Highland’s most robust beer, having a very malty body with a large, roasted chocolate flavor. It is black in color with a very clean finish and a moderate hop flavor. Seriously, does that not sound DIVINE?
  2. It gives me an excuse to flex my (horrible) Scots dialect muscles – “When in Rome,” and all that jazz.

Someone needs to teach me how to pour beer, though, because the head on mine is pitiful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. heirtoblair permalink
    January 16, 2010 7:54 am

    This is why we are friends. One of my FAVORITE beers.

    Awesome story about this beer in particular – on Nate & I’s 2nd anny trip, we went to Asheville. At Mellow Mushroom, I asked the server what this beer was like. “What do you mean, what is it like?” he asked.

    “You know,” I said. “What does it taste like? How heavy is it? Like a usual stout, heavier, lighter…?”

    He said, “Oh, yeah. It tastes like beer.”

    Well, then.

  2. January 17, 2010 6:42 pm

    Heh heh. Pitiful head. Poor Rob.

Leave a Reply

