Skip to content

‘Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances,’ by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

February 3, 2010

I hope you follow me on Twitter in some fashion. If you don’t, you really should.

If you do, you’ll know already that I spent much of last week being a silly goose and playing a reverse psychology game with the weather.

Because the weather is a thing that reverse psychology can affect.

Go ahead and kiss my ass, because IT TOTALLY DID.

I spent the entire week watching the weather forecast predict snow for my area and verbally denounced the predictions, telling anyone who would listen that I didn’t give a crap if it snowed. In fact, I’d rather it didn’t.

On the inside, I was doing a mental snowdance and praying for snow with every ounce of my being.

It was the perfect time to read “Let It Snow,” a super cute book that takes place during a huge snowstorm in North Carolina on Christmas Eve.

The book is actually comprised of three separate short stories written by each of the authors. Each story stands happily on its own, but the kicker is that they wind together in a six-degress-of-separation sort of way, only it’s actually fewer than six degrees.

The stories are all of the coming-of-age, love-story variety, but they’re also of the HILARIOUS variety. Maureen Johnson and John Green have an amazing talent when it comes to writing characters I want to rip from the pages and carry around in my pocket to refer to for amusement and companionship throughout my day.

Seriously. I want them to create an imaginary friend for me.

Even better. I want them to be my friends.

I really shouldn’t try to review books I fall in love like this with. I can’t get my point across without piddling on the carpet. I’m pretty sure puppies have more restraint.

ANYHOW.

Not only do I love the characters for their witty, sarcastic, smart selves, I love them because they’re honest characters. They could be people I meet and become friends with. They share a lot of the same traits many of the friends I already know possess. Their personalities are impossibly easy to relate to, as are their conflicts.

If any of this bouncing-puppy behavior has piqued your interest even the slightest bit, please bounce over to Goodreads for a proper synopsis and maybe some better-written reviews.

It’s late, it’s been nearly a week since I finished the book, and all that’s left behind is the knowledge that I absolutely adored it.

Up next: “Second Helpings,” by Megan McCafferty (the second Jessica Darling novel)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 11:02 pm

    I SO need to read this. I’m no fan of Lauren Myracle (although I’ve never read an actual book of hers, because TTYL does NOT count as anything but crap), but I have a girl crush on Maureen Johnson in a big way. And you know my John Green love.

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 3, 2010 11:14 pm

      Perhaps you noticed how I omitted Myracle from the gushing? Her story was decent, but it was flat compared with Maureen and John. I share the serious crushing. We are creepy nerds. ❤

  2. February 4, 2010 11:29 am

    ::adds to TBR list::

  3. February 4, 2010 2:07 pm

    I get that way about books, too! I wish they were my friends. I have been staring at this in the store and debating on whether or not to get it. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

