Skip to content

39/365

February 8, 2010

Portrait of PCOS

Details to make note of:

  • Token PCOS drugs: Femara and Metformin
  • Acne: I got through my first 26.8(ish) years with basically clear skin, but I’ve spent all of age 27 battling zits. IT SUCKS.
  • Rad hair. No, I did not get bangs. I shed more hair than normal in the seven months my body failed to ovulate. It didn’t bother me then because I have wicked thick hair. Losing more than normal was no big deal. Now, it’s growing back, and the 2 inches of hair closest to my scalp is extra thick, and I have these heinous stellar “bangs.” I tried making the short hairs stick out all over, but guess what! They aren’t uniform, so it’s impossible for me to properly illustrate the shit growing out of top of my head.
  • Sarcastic smile and thumbs up – because sometimes there’s nothing left to do but smile.

It’s McHealthy Monday again, and I’m kind of out of healthy-type photos. Do you really want to see the carrot sticks I munched on today or the yogurt I had for breakfast? Do you want to see a photo of my water bottle or another pic of me on the treadmill?

I thought not.

Instead, this entry is sponsored by my PCOS, which is partly behind my motivation for McHealthy Monday.

I have scaled back on my high-GI foods, but I’m not happy yet with my cuts. I’m still trying to figure out a good balance that works for me. So far, I think it’s going to be something like oatmeal or a smoothie for breakfast, a sandwich on whole wheat for lunch and only protein and low-GI veggies for snacks and dinner.

I’ve treadmilled three times since last McHealthy Monday, and, while that’s not ideal, it is more than I did before.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. heirtoblair permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:19 pm

    Dude. I had similar hair last year at this time. I started growing “new” hair with Harpie, but it never fell out afterwards. Then I got knocked up with Harrison & it kept growing into these weird “bangs.” Good news – the ones under your normal hair give it more lift!

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 8, 2010 7:27 pm

      I’m terrified at what pregnancy and after will do to my hair if this is the result of anovulation.

      I might have to Bic it and start over. Eep!

  2. dandj06 permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:22 pm

    Bangs definitely work for you!
    I wish I was “mchealthy’ – I had wings for dinner. Fail.

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 8, 2010 7:32 pm

      Heh. I haven’t had bangs since I was 12. These quasi-bangs are somewhat traumatic!

  3. speed permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:34 pm

    Hey, I just mixed a smoothie this morning that might fit into your low GI diet.
    1/2 c Milk (% of your choice, we keep 2% in the house for the wee one)
    1/4 c Greek Yogurt (0%)
    1 scoop of Designer Whey protein powder
    Eyeball some frozen mixed berries and dump in
    Blend until smooth.
    Today I had to add about 1/4 of water to thin it out some. You could probably do 3/4 c of skim milk, but since I only had 2% and I’m trying to watch calories, I used the milk. It’s shockingly filling. I paired it with a Fiber One bar just to keep things…Erm…Moving.

    Anywhoo, I love the bangs. They’re sexy! And like Blair says, they add loads of volume!

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 8, 2010 7:40 pm

      That’s pretty similar to my standard smoothie. Mine goes something like:

      1/2 c Greek yogurt (o%)
      eyeball some frozen berries (usually blueberries and raspberries), about 1/2 c – 3/4 c
      1 tbs. flax seed
      1/4 c – 1/2 c 1% milk (depending on how juicy the berries are) to thin it out

      And … that’s pretty much it.

      I’ve been afraid of not-flavored protein powder, and the Kashi vanilla stuff I used to use has extra carbs I should avoid.

      Does the kind you have taste OK?

      • speed permalink
        February 8, 2010 8:36 pm

        I use a vanilla flavored protein which helps with the taste. I know Jay Robb brand protein is the most protein, lowest carb (it uses Stevia as a sweetener) and best overall protein powder I’ve tried. HT carries it at about $22 a container. We switched to Designer Whey because it’s same size and half the price. A little less protein, 18g to Jay Robb’s 26 (or something like that). But only 3 g carbs. I get the DW at TJ’s.

      • Jenny permalink*
        February 9, 2010 8:25 am

        Oops. I was wrong. I use a full cup of Greek yogurt.

  4. everam01 permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:37 pm

    Your thumbs up pic to the right is mocking your thumbs up pic to the left. I love it.

    • February 8, 2010 8:14 pm

      That’s what I thought too.

      It’s Jenny’s signature move.

      Also, Jenny I’ve had the same “random adult acne” problem for about a year and a half now. If you find a solution let me know.

      • Jenny permalink*
        February 8, 2010 8:27 pm

        Fortunately, I know my acne is caused by my wonky hormones, courtesy of my PCOS. It’s all cyclical – the zits ebb and flow, if you will, with waves of hormones.

        Awesome, isn’t it?

      • February 8, 2010 8:31 pm

        Mine come and go with my cycle too, or rather, they come and then don’t go. They like to hang around. (But I don’t have PCOS, that I know of)

        Yeah, it’s freakin’ fantastic. I can’t think of a better face to put forward when I leave the house.

        Hormone fail.

  5. February 9, 2010 10:08 am

    I just looove the acne that has sprouted up courtesy of PCOS. Almost as much as I love the random chin or neck hair. All of it is incredibly sexy. We should start a Women With PCOS calendar. Sure to be a best seller!

  6. February 10, 2010 12:08 pm

    On the plus side, excellent use of wicked. You’ve become a natural 🙂

  7. February 12, 2010 10:26 am

    Hi Jenny,

    While I haven’t blogged about my PCOS, I found your blog through a search on it. PCOS is truly a nightmare! I too am going to try the whole low carb/low GI diet thing…but man, it is so TOUGH!

    Good luck & sending you lots of positive vibes!

    Elizabeth

  8. Heather permalink
    February 17, 2010 1:09 am

    “Sometimes there’s nothing left to do but smile.” Been there, done that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

