Skip to content

44/365

February 13, 2010

I HAVE PINK HAIR

After much deliberation and polling of close friends and strangers alike, I settled on Red Wine from Jerome Russell’s Punky Color line. I didn’t want red-red, but I couldn’t decide between pink or purple. So I went for a burgundy-ish red.

We went for the chunky-streak look and grabbed some chunks, put them on foil, painted on the dye, folded up the foil (I’ve had highlights done zillions of times), and let it set. It didn’t look like I had much hair in the foil, and it set for about 50 minutes.

Then I rinsed.

And apparently five minutes of rinsing was enough to COLOR THE REST OF THE TOP OF MY HAIR and tint the bottom half.

Sooooo, yeah.

I have pinkish-red hair.

There is one itsy bitsy streak of my near-natural dark blonde that’s only tinted pink. I suspect a few washes will rid that streak of the pink, and I’ll have pink hair with a blonde streak.

To start, I did an all-over box color today to get a complete, processed slate to work with. I had grown-out highlights from last June that I was afraid would pick up too much color, so I colored my whole head a dark blonde, very close to my natural color.

Apparently the pink stuck well to it. Erm, too well.

I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do. As I see it, I can either color the rest of it pink (it looks weird having pink on top and dark blonde underneath), I can wash the shit out of it and pray some blonde streaks show back through, or I can streak back in some blonde.

I’m not panicking. Curiously enough, I can’t really say I care all that much. It isn’t what I planned, and it’s a tad odd, but … oh, well.

Plus, I kinda like my hot pink hair.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 8:45 pm

    I love the color!

  2. February 13, 2010 8:47 pm

    It works for you! You have the looks and personality to pull this color off!

  3. heirtoblair permalink
    February 13, 2010 8:48 pm

    zomg, you are Tonks! You look awesome, by the way. Not too many folks can look so ridiculously adorable with pink hair, but you pulled it off.

  4. February 13, 2010 10:13 pm

    3 words. Pulling it off. Carry on.

  5. February 14, 2010 9:41 am

    I like it!

  6. Vivian permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:19 am

    Love it!!

Leave a Reply

