Skip to content

Tough times

April 6, 2010

Once upon a time, I was in a tough spot and wondered whether I was making the right decision. I wanted some guidance, someone to tell me what to do.

The very same day, my good friend, Anna, posted a vlog asking her readers to share words/thoughts/quotes/whatnots that have helped them get through tough times.

Um, perfect timing much?

The comment I left for Anna was this:

One cut-up bit of words (to omit unrelated verses) that’s spoken to me since I was a teen are some of the lyrics from “Another Day” in RENT.

“The heart may freeze or it can burn
The pain will ease if I can learn
There is no future
There is no past
I live this moment as my last
There’s only us
There’s only this
Forget regret
Or life is yours to miss
No other road
No other way
No day but today …

“There’s only yes
Only tonight
We must let go
To know what’s right
No other course
No other way
No day but today …

“I can’t control
My destiny
I trust my soul
My only goal is just
To be
There’s only now
There’s only here
Give in to love
Or live in fear
No other path
No other way
No day but today”

Why? It’s easier for me to face something Big and Difficult if I only face it today and not think about facing it tomorrow. If I make it through today, I’ve won a battle.

Another quote I have written down (from who knows where) is: “Trust in God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.”

Only, that was then, before plans changed, and this is now.

Now, I’m just sort of lost. I feel like I’ve read the same words over and over in the past, and they aren’t having the same effect today as they once did.

When I’m down like this, I get by a few different ways.

  1. I escape – whether it’s through a good book, a game that requires attention (but doesn’t make me want to throw things) or just immersing myself in my friends’ lives while I forget my own – I take a break from my life and focus on other things.
  2. I sit in silence. I have a hard time listening to music or watching movies/television when I’m in a Mood. My brain just won’t pay attention. So I sit in silence. And I think. Or I cry. Or I talk with God. I don’t know if I do it right, but my prayers are more like one-sided conversations with God. The letters I’ve written for you to read? Those are pretty clear transcriptions of actual conversations I’ve had with God.
  3. I throw things and yell.
  4. I take really long, really hot showers.

But that’s when I’m in a Mood. Sure, I’m in a Serious Mood right now, but that’s more because my body is constantly reminding me of what I’m losing. Once this passes, I’m going to be ready to pick myself up, brush myself off and walk onto the next challenge.

That’s just how I am.

But I need your help. I need some new, fresh words that might help.

Thus, I ask you, dear readers:

What is a quote, phrase, passage, poem, anything that has helped you get through the more difficult times in your lives?

Don’t feel obligated to come up with the wisest, most scholarly and philosophical piece of verbiage you can find. Just share what’s helped you in the past. Maybe it can help me or someone else.

I have to add this: Guys, Anna is ridiculously sweet and cute and I just want to put her in my pocket and carry her around to bring out for lolz and hugs. Check out her vlog, then check out her blog. Loves!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 9:41 pm

    More lyrics from Rent are coming to my mind: The opposite of war isn’t peace, it’s creation! Maybe that sounds like a cruel joke t this particular moment but I’ve always found that to be a reminder that stillness is not the answer. Progress is. Maybe you don’t know precisely where you’re going but at least you’re going someplace.

  2. April 6, 2010 9:47 pm

    Okay. It may be a little silly. But when I start to feel down, I like to read Maya Angelou’s Phenomenal Woman. It makes me think “Yeah. I can do this” whatever “this” is.

    Um… I like to listen to “Smile” by Nat King Cole…. which usually makes me cry… or more recently “Little Wonders” by Rob Thomas (b/c I’m a cheese ball and I adore Meet the Robinsons)

    If only I had some real words to share… something that would help. Sometimes the only thing that helps me is to drink a glass of wine (or two) and break out the journal. I’ve written some of the world’s finest drunk poetry.

    I wish I could give you a hug.

  3. April 6, 2010 9:56 pm

    I don’t know it word for word, but something about, “It will all be Ok in the end. If it’s not OK, it’s not the end.”

    I wish I had something better for you. My heart breaks for what you’re going through and I just wanted to tell you that you’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. April 6, 2010 10:00 pm

    Phillipians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    That’s gotten me through some really rough times.

    Continuing to pray for ya! 🙂

  5. Alena permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:04 pm

    I’m not going to put the quote, but just the songs…you can look them up!

    Kindly Unspoken by Kate Voegele

    Ok I have more, but I have a severe case of ADD and can’t come up with them right now.

  6. April 6, 2010 10:04 pm

    Jenny,

    First of all, I just wanted to thank you for being so up front and honest on your battle with IF. I have just started this journey, and your thoughts and feelings have resonated with me. So thank you for saying what I have needed to say, but have not been able to say.

    Secondly, this poem always helps me in tough times. I hope it helps you.

    Desiderata

    Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
    and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender
    be on good terms with all persons.

    Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
    and listen to others,
    even the dull and the ignorant;
    they too have their story.

    Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
    they are vexations to the spirit.

    If you compare yourself with others,
    you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

    Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

    Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
    it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

    Exercise caution in your business affairs;
    for the world is full of trickery.
    But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
    many persons strive for high ideals;
    and everywhere life is full of heroism.

    Be yourself.
    Especially, do not feign affection.
    Neither be cynical about love;
    for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
    it is as perennial as the grass.

    Take kindly the counsel of the years,
    gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
    Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
    But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.

    Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
    Beyond a wholesome discipline,
    be gentle with yourself.

    You are a child of the universe,
    no less than the trees and the stars;
    you have a right to be here.
    And whether or not it is clear to you,
    no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

    Therefore be at peace with God,
    whatever you conceive Him to be,
    and whatever your labors and aspirations,
    in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

    With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
    it is still a beautiful world.
    Be cheerful.
    Strive to be happy.

    Max Ehrmann, Desiderata, Copyright 1952.

    Hang in there, we are all routing for you!

  7. April 6, 2010 10:07 pm

    Wow. As many times as I have heard those RENT lyrics, they just punched me in the GUT right now. It’s crazy how words do that, isn’t it? They show up in just the right place at the right time and have just the right impact.

    Here’s something that has always inspired me. Heartwarming and life-affirming lyrics in the forms of an old-school hardcore punk song. This is one of my favorite songs ever, and I focus on the words when I am having a tough time.

    So, this is my song for you, right now. 🙂

    Too Close To See – Strung Out

    A cup of two day old coffee
    You’re feeling like yourself again
    You’re still on your own
    You’ve survived another night in this dingy room with the same four walls

    Lookin’ in the mirrors
    Gettin’ easier these days
    That old friend anger is losing it’s hold on
    You the game is survival in this crazy world
    And it’s good to see you’re still standing strong

    Not too long ago you were tearing at a world
    That would never let you in
    Strung out, outcast turned away
    You kept your face to the ground
    And fought the world with your silence

    And so the seasons change and the people change
    And the good times come and the good times go
    Found yourself in a winless race fighting
    For a cause you never believed

    Its easy to regret
    Not so easy to forget all the stupid things that used to hold you down
    You gotta break that chain and move on
    ’cause I know I’ve seen it in your eyes before

    To surrender now to throw it all away
    Is to sacrifice but you can’t repay
    In a world that don’t owe you shit
    You gotta think for yourself and fight every bit of that peace of mind that keeps you going on
    Gets you outta bed
    And out that door
    Step back take a look around
    And soon you’ll find there’s something more

    That’ll come your way with a little patience
    It will all work out for you in the end
    This is my song to a friend that
    Never needed anyone until now
    Some times you get too close to see
    A different side of what life could be
    And if you stare too long it all becomes a blur
    And it’s easy to forget just who we are
    Don’t stare to hard, just take a look around…

    And, here, you need a video because Jason Cruz is HAWT

  8. everam01 permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:19 pm

    The serenity prayer works for me when I feel helpless.

    I wish I had more comfort for you, but most of my favorite song lyrics are too emo-ish. Just know that you have so much support and love, and so many people are rooting for you.

  9. April 6, 2010 10:22 pm

    Well, to be honest when I’m feeling down for whatever some depressing music helps. I dunno why.

    Usually Bright Eyes.
    So here is a few songs that always seem to help me.

    http://www.plyrics.com/lyrics/brighteyes/bowloforanges.html
    “Baby don’t worry cause now I got your back. And every time you feel like crying,
    I’m gonna try and make you laugh. And if I can’t, if it just hurts too bad,
    then we will wait for it to pass and I will keep you company
    through those days so long and black.
    And we’ll keep working on the problem we know we’ll never solve
    Of Love’s uneven remainders, our lives are fractions of a whole.
    But if the world could remain within a frame like a painting on a wall.
    Then I think we would see the beauty.
    Then we would stand staring in awe at our still lives posed like a bowl of oranges,
    like a story told by the fault lines and the soil”

    http://www.plyrics.com/lyrics/brighteyes/firstdayofmylife.html
    (The title of my blog, in fact)
    “This is the first day of my life
    I swear I was born right in the doorway
    I went out in the rain suddenly everything changed
    They’re spreading blankets on the beach”

    http://www.plyrics.com/lyrics/brighteyes/iwillbegratefulforthisday.html
    “The pictures’ left unfinished.
    So I am writing my own ending.
    I’ll let my pen bleed black or blue.
    And I will color in the meaning.
    It will be gold and green and true.
    And I’ll learn to love my new discovered proof.
    I’ll be grateful for this day.
    I will be grateful for each day to come.”

    I have a tattoo of that last one in fact. Even though I have no idea what you are going through, I can only imagine & I try my best to be a good listener. Even if we’ve just internet-met. Keep your head up!

  10. April 6, 2010 10:34 pm

    There are so many! How can I narrow them down?

    First of all, I listen to any and all Dixie Chicks. Even if the lyrics don’t apply they still make me feel better. The Dixie Chicks are wise my friend. ; )

    Matthew 6:34: Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. This one has gotten me through many an angst filled day. Especially after my car crash when there were always so many unanswered questions. “One day at a time” takes on a whole new meaning with this.

    I also keep a quote book handy where I scribble inspiring things as I come across them. These two came to mind:

    “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it, yet.” Anne of Green Gables

    “A little knowledge of God is worth more than a great deal of knowledge about him.” J.I. Packer, Knowing God

    And of course, anything from The Portable Dorothy Parker, because no matter how angry and bitter I get she is always worse. Somehow that makes me feel better about myself.

  11. Isha permalink
    April 6, 2010 11:22 pm

    “Anything in life worth having, it has it’s sacrifice. And the gift that you’re receiving is worth more than the price.” Garth Brooks

    “Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But, if you work really hard, and you’re kind, amazing things will happen. I’m telling you: Amazing things will happen.” Conan O’Brien

    And this one, most of all, From “The Lord of the Rings” movie
    Frodo: I can’t do this, Sam.

    Sam: I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.

    Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?

    Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo… and it’s worth fighting for.

  12. Jenny permalink*
    April 6, 2010 11:28 pm

    Wow, you guys. You are rolling out some truly amazing words. Thank you! Keep them coming!

    Isha, the LOTR quote is speaking directly to my soul right now. Wow. Just … WOW.

  13. Alena permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:08 am

    I was laying in bed and this song came into my head. And I was like “DONT FORGET” So

    “I’m Alive” By Kenny Chesney & Dave Matthews

    Others from my iTunes:
    Voice Within-Christina Aguilera
    Permission to Dream – Enation
    Broken-Lindsey Haun

  14. April 7, 2010 6:23 am

    Jeremiah 29:11 ‘For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”

    It’s my life verse, and helps me…realign I guess. Sometimes I need to readjust my thinking into the state of mind that KNOWS that God wants to bless me when I follow His will. and sometimes the things that I view are bad, are a lot better than what could have been, but that He didn’t let happen.

    Do I think this applies to your situation (or at least the sit. that you allow us to see on the interwebz) maybe not. But this has helped me quite a bit. Then there is my new favorite inspiration. I just keep thinking right at the brink of giving up on something because there is so much ugliness in the world, not to, because I could help change that.

    People are often unreasonable, illogical, and self-centered;

    forgive them anyway.

    If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;

    be kind anyway.

    If you are successful you will win some false friends and true enemies;

    succeed anyway.

    If you are honest people may cheat you;

    be honest anyway.

    What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;

    build anyway.

    If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;

    be happy anyway.

    The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;

    do good anyway.

    Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;

    give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

    You see, in the end, it is between you and God;

    it was never between you and them anyway.

    ~ Mother Teresa ~

  15. April 7, 2010 7:33 am

    After my miscarriage and when we were TTC, the one that always helped me, obviously enough was “Hope springs eternal”. And I also liked to listen to Coldplay a lot. Oh, and Voice Within by Christina Aguilera is amazing, I will agree with Alena. And also by her, “Fighter” is a good one! Hugs to you.

  16. April 7, 2010 7:57 am

    I was reading a book about parenting with grace last night and thought of you when I read this. I know people always say not to talk about how this is in God’s plan to someone going through a miscarriage, (and I’ve never experienced one, so I’m probably breaking all the rules saying this), but when I read it, I thought of you.

    The author is talking about parenting when kids don’t get what they want and he says: “The God we trust doesn’t always deal with these problems in ways we expect or hope for. Sometimes He answers our pleas with “No” or “Wait” or “Later.” When he does, it’s because He’s working to make us better and stronger and to draw us closer to Him He has a bigger plan that this setback fits into.

    He goes on to quote some scripture…I haven’t read the actual scripture- only in the book, but apparently Paul is praying to God to take a thorn out of his side and God says “No” to him- specifically he says “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9) Now the part that made me think of you is how Paul responds to God’s answer. Paul is talking about the hope he has in God- hope I hope (can I say hope anymore?) that you’ll find again in God (or maybe still have, I don’t know?): “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why for Christ’s sake, I delight in weakness, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9b10) I know that this would be extremely tough for me to do because I would have lost all hope in God, but I pray that you can find the trust to hope in God like Paul did again.

  17. speed permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:21 am

    I still can’t get through this song without tears… Colin Hay’s, Waiting for My Real Life to Begin.

    Any minute now, my ship is coming in
    I’ll keep checking the horizon
    And I’ll check my machine, there’s sure to be that call
    It’s gonna happen soon, soon, soon
    It’s just that times are lean

    And you say, be still my love
    Open up your heart, let the light shine in
    Don’t you understand
    I already have a plan
    I’m waiting for my real life to begin

    When it’s gotten so hard that every day I couldn’t talk without that tightness in my throat that meant tears were just right on verge of tipping over, I would think “this is just the dress rehearsal…when it really starts we’ll take that out of the script.” But I’m a giant cheeseball too, so…you know… 🙂

    Hugs, friend.

  18. April 7, 2010 8:26 am

    My new mantra, actually taken from a letter to the editor in Shambahla Sun magazine: “The task at hand is not keeping me from my life. The task at hand _is_ my life.” It is exactly what I need to remember every day to keep from losing it.

  19. Vivian permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:04 am

    I know not everyone shares my absolute obsession with Josh Groban but whenever I’m particularly down the first thing I do is pop in one of his CD’s. I especially love the songs that are in a different language and I have no idea what they mean because they can mean what I want them to and I can feel what I want to feel. But when I need an extra special pick-me-up, I go to the old faithful “You Raise Me Up”.

    When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
    When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
    Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
    Until you come and sit awhile with me.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up… To more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up… To more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up… To more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up… To more than I can be.

    You raise me up… To more than I can be.

    Very simple but very powerful. I’m so so sorry that you are fighting this fight! I wish that I could make it all better for you. But I can be here for you, whenever, wherever! Really Big Teddy Bear Hugs!!!

  20. horizon1322 permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:17 am

    I’m thinking about you and praying for you. I always go to Philippians 4.6-7, and I pray that you can feel God’s perfect peace. Sometimes, when I don’t have the words to pray anymore, I just turn to the Psalms. Psalm 69, Psalm 13, and Psalm 42 are some of my favorites. I don’t have any songs or inspirational quotes, but I hope that you can find some solace and strength in these words.

  21. April 7, 2010 9:29 am

    I absolutely love those lyrics, they ring so true for so many situations.

    I am sorry you are going through a hard time 😦

  22. April 7, 2010 9:42 am

    Oh Jen, what to say? As I mentioned before I wish I had the perfect words to just make this all better for you. I can’t begin to imagine what you’re going through but I know it must be devestating. First, please take comfort in the fact that you are not alone. Besides Rob and your “real life” friends, you have a whole virtual community giving you virtual hugs ALL.THE.TIME. I’ve been down like you before, but for different reasons so I doubt the songs and poems that got me through would be of any help. But I can offer this…my all time favorite quote. It’s by Gandhi, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” I’m not really sure how this fits or why it’s appropriate, but I offer it to you just the same. XO

  23. April 7, 2010 10:03 am

    Josh Groban always gives me hope, regardless of the language of the songs. I also agree that this is a great verse Phillipians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    When one door closes, another one opens. God only gives you what you can handle. He has a plan for you. Continue to put your trust in him.

    I’m praying for you.

  24. April 7, 2010 10:17 am

    There are two things I try to remember when I’m going through tough times. First, if God brings you to it he will bring you through it. Second, the greatest gifts in life will make your hands bleed while opening them. The second is actually my favorite. It just reminds me to be patient because I don’t know what God has in store for me and it may seem hard right now, but it will be worth the wait. Lots of prayers for you.

  25. Jenny permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:38 am

    I’m actually getting this printed to put in my office.
    “Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” – Winston Churchill

    It’s not much but really hits home to me.

  26. April 7, 2010 10:47 am

    Maybe this is random, but during the times when we were trying and waiting and trying again and I was getting impatient, some stanzas of TS Elliot’s The Lovesong for J Alfred Prufrock came to me, specifically:

    And indeed there will be time
    For the yellow smoke that slides along the street,
    Rubbing its back upon the window-panes;
    There will be time, there will be time
    To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet;
    There will be time to murder and create,
    And time for all the works and days of hands
    That lift and drop a question on your plate;
    Time for you and time for me,
    And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
    And for a hundred visions and revisions,
    Before the taking of a toast and tea.

    … I don’t know why but the writing and lyricism comforted me, maybe it’ll do the same for you.

  27. mmariluh permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:13 pm

    I think I may have to come back to this post myself. There’s a lot of great stuff here…

    But, I apologize in advance for MY contribution, well…

    I’m thinking, trying to figure out some of the quotes that have helped me through…

    The first one that came to mind was: “Last night I lay in bed looking up at the stars in the sky and I thought to myself, where the heck is the ceiling.”

    Ok, ok, so that wasn’t really what I was looking for… So, I kept thinking… and then… the second quote that popped into my head was… “If at first you don’t succeed, skydiving is not for you.”

    Then I chastised myself, I’m trying to be supportive! To give you the quotes that have made a difference in my life, so why can’t I come up with something better than that? Surely there must be!

    Of course, then my mind just rebelled, what was I doing chastising it? Punishing my mind for not coming up with something better, and my mind, crazy as it is, answered “One of the lessons of history is that Nothing is often a good thing to do and always a clever thing to say. ”

    But, dammit! I will come up with a good quote! I must, I shall! “I know you think you understood what I said, but what you heard was not what I meant.”

    Ok, so, maybe, my mind is not in a helping mood today, huh? Oh, but I want to! I mean, I pride myself in having a few good quotes in my arsenal… WHY can’t I do this?! The truth is… “Nobody can get the truth from me, even I don’t know what it is. I keep myself in a constant state of utter confusion.”

    What on earth is in my brain today? I WANT to share!!!

    Truth is. Through the pain of this all… I have learned a few things…

    1. “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”
    Strangely, from the greatest sorrows, have come some of the most cherished experiences, some of the most cherished friendships and some of the most compelling stories in my life. Do I wish I’d never known the sorrows, OF COURSE! But, all of those “rainy days” have shown me that I have a dance partner, that there are others in the rain… We are not alone. (So let’s have a dance party under the rain! – Ok, so, please ignore my crazy mind) Please to be sending some men in white coats to pretty PR ASAP “I don’t suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.”

    2. “Being defeated is often a temporary condition. Giving up is what makes it permanent.” I’ve needed this one a lot. I give up. A lot.

    3. “Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.”

    4.” There is a light at the end of every tunnel….just pray it’s not a train!.” Ok, so, yeah, I’m gone…

    So, yes, I’m a motivational quote FAIL, but still…

    This sucks. It sucks bad. But the sun will shine again. And, hopefully, this will be another tale to tell one day.

    You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers.

    And just because there’s never enough…

    Some HUGE {{{{{Abrazos}}}}}} to you!

  28. tamerbelles permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:52 pm

    “God won’t give me more than I can handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.” 🙂

  29. Jen permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:36 pm

    I think: Today is the BEST day of someone’s life. Today, right this minute, someone out there is having one of those days where every single thing goes her way and nothing can get her down. A day she’ll remember for the rest of her life. Maybe today is not my day. But someday it will be.

  30. April 7, 2010 4:12 pm

    When I go through rough times, I’ve always turned to music. Songs that make me happy. “Send Me On My Way’ by Rusted Root is a favorite. The music is happy and upbeat…and there’s a lot going on.

    When we discovered our own infertility, I threw myself into projects…I needed something else to focus on. We drove cross country to Vegas–I planned every mile of that trip, and it’s still my favorite vacation. I threw myself into exercise (which I need to do again…maybe when the pollen dies down). These projects were motivating and very helpful in distracting me from my situation and the baby explosion going on all around me. I also took time for myself…just to be. I allowed myself to be upset. To be mad at God. To be mad at the world. And I went to therapy. It all helped. They say time heals all wounds–and it sounds trite, but it’s true. Five years later, I can plan baby showers. I can even witness the birth of my nephew. But there is still a twinge in my heart–it’s just not as loud. My wish for you, is that 5 years from now, you are holding your precious child in your arms–maybe 2 or three! And you are passing on helpful advice to people who went through a similar situation to your own. It will happen for you–I believe that. {{{hugs}}}

  31. April 7, 2010 5:40 pm

    Take chances, take a lot of them. Because honestly, no matter where you end up and with whom, it always ends up just the way it should be. Your mistakes make you who you are. You learn and grow with each choice you make. Everything is worth it. Say how you feel always. Be you, and be okay with it.” -Hollie Seals

  32. Julia permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:01 pm

    “Be gentle with yourself”. I say this to myself every day.

Leave a Reply

