Skip to content

Onward and upward

April 20, 2010

Rob and I had a consultation today with our reproductive endocrinologist (aka RE aka infertility doctor).

It. Was. GREAT.

She is on the same page as us: What we’re doing is working on some level. We’re so close to succeeding, so we see no reason to make a big leap in aggressiveness.

Since we have to be careful with medication that stimulates my already-hyperstimulated ovaries, she is increasing my dosage of Metformin, which will help keep my ovaries from losing their damn minds and producing 30 eggs. I have no desire to outdo Octomom.

I’ll also be on hormonal supplements at crucial times in my cycle. My levels have been at the low end of acceptable – not terrible, but not ideal. It could be what led to my early losses, even though it may not be the reason. Still. Whatever helps. (“Whatever helps” is also my reason behind cutting carbs – evil foodstuffs that have proven nasty for those with PCOS.)

The biggest change in our approach is that I’m going to start acupuncture, providing finances agree with that path. I wish I had more information to give you, dear readers, on why I was going to start acupuncture, but part of my plan to start acupuncture includes finding out why it’s good for women with PCOS – all I know right now is something about it fixing my Qi, which is a word I’ve only ever before encountered while playing Words With Friends on my iTouch.

I think the most important part of today is how the visit felt. The nurse who weighed me asked how I’ve been since the loss. Then my doctor asked the same thing and asked if we were ready to try again or if we needed more time. You’d think this would be the norm with people dealing with infertility day in and day out, but I think we can all agree that the medical field can sometimes feel cold and impersonal, sometimes too focused on the medications, diagnoses and results and not enough on the patients.

I’m happy to report that this is not the case for us. Rob and I are people, not just patients, and we’re being helped by people, not just doctors and nurses.

That’s pretty awesome.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 12:09 am

    This makes me happy. I’m glad you’re all on the same page. Let’s just get your body on board and we’ll be all good to go! πŸ˜‰

    I’ll be sending you all the good vibes I have!

  2. speed permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:48 am

    I’m glad that they were so sensitive to your loss. I think that means so, so much. YAY for a good appt!

  3. April 21, 2010 9:14 am

    I am so happy that you have a doctor that is on the same page as you. Feels great, doesn’t it?

    I’ve not heard that carbs are evil for those with PCOS. I may just have to make some additional diet changes. Are you cutting them completely or limit them? Do you have a resource your using to guide you?

    • Jenny permalink*
      April 21, 2010 9:22 am

      I’ve actually been meaning to blog about PCOS, carbs and my experiences with changing my diet. You may be the extra kick in the pants I’ve needed.

      Long story short for now, I follow the South Beach Diet – more or less. It’s more like a map I follow than a strict diet (with the exception of phase 1). I’ll expand much more when I blog it out. Swearsies.

  4. April 21, 2010 9:41 am

    Jenny,

    I’ve been doing acupuncture for a year now and I love it. I’ve not gotten pregnant, but it has helped extend my luteal phase, so that’s good. Anyway, good luck to you! πŸ™‚

    (Oh, and I’d also like to hear about your diet. I’m really struggling with mine.)

  5. April 21, 2010 12:19 pm

    Jenny – I am SO happy for you. I have a very close, personal friend who tried acupuncture and she believed it was the missing link – getting pregnant four months later – after trying for three years. I’m sure this doesn’t happen for everyone, but with every new technique it seems you learn something more about what is happening in your body and get one step closer – thoughts & prayers, friend.

  6. April 21, 2010 1:05 pm

    That’s great.

  7. April 21, 2010 1:37 pm

    Hooray for a plan! Even if the steps don’t have a definite “you should do this because” it’s always helpful to have something new to try. And being treated like a person? Even better.

  8. April 21, 2010 7:09 pm

    I am SO glad you like your doctor!!! And accupuncture will be amazing from what I hear. A friend of mine had it after a loss and loved it. My sister also swears by it. Let me know what you think!!!

  9. April 22, 2010 3:26 pm

    i think you should have nondecaplets. just sayin….

    and hooray for skinny!

    • Jenny permalink*
      April 22, 2010 4:52 pm

      Oh, you are HILARIOUS! I would be shipping some bodies up to hang from the beams in your house.

Leave a Reply

