Skip to content

111/365 aka HALP!

April 22, 2010

I’ve been informed that our new cabinets won’t be in for some time. This throws a giant wrench into my grand plan.

See, I was going to leave things fairly gutted until we had all the new cabinets and then tackle the reorganizing job all at once. Now I have to do some now and some later.

Awesome. Not.

The bitch of it is that I am a complete mess when it comes to organizing things. I’ll tear everything out from its home and then sit for hours, scratching my head, in the middle of a giant mess. I can never figure out where to put things that need new homes.

I’m really quite excited to have the kitchen reorganized. I’m just hyperventilating over the actual reorganization.

Help me?

Here’s the kitchen today:

The deal:

See that cabinet to the right of the window? The one with a wee cabinet on top that almost reaches the ceiling? Most of the cabinets will be like that, so I’m adding a ton of cabinet space – at about the 8′ level.

See the bottom of the spackling line? Yeah, about right there is where we are installing open, floating shelves. The idea right now is to have commonly used/washed items (glasses, dishes, etc.) on there, at good reaching point for us shorties.

Above the refrigerator will be a new, wicked deep cabinet. That cabinet is already reserved for my platters that are just too wide for the normal-cabinet depth.

The cabinet above the microwave will be completely replaced with one the height of the cabinets that will be stacked next to it.

Does this make ANY sense?

So. Tell me where to put stuff. I think the only counter things you can’t really see in these crappy pics (I wanted to get this up ASAP, as I’m currently scratching my head and staring at a mess) are the toaster oven, which lives on the counter next to the fridge, and the Keurig, which lives on the counter next to the sink. On the wall next to the Keurig is my magnetic knife strip and my STABBING KNIVES.

(kidding. they’re for cutting food.)

The only thing I’ve relocated so far are my stupid plastic bowls/containers/lids. They used to live in the corner cabinet above the counter (the bottom houses a lazy susan and various cooking stuffs (oil, salt, spices, vinegar, etc.).

Now! Tell me what to do! Ask questions! HALP!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 6:13 pm

    1. Find lots of matching containers you can store things in. I noticed you have a Williams Sonoma utensil jar, so something like this would look great with it. You might be able to hang them off the shelving you were talking about.

    http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40116744

    2. If you don’t have these, you should get them. Then we can really be twins. πŸ˜›

    http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/ceramic-and-stainless-steel-canister-set/?pkey=ckitchen-organization|deckitcan

    3. Place all infrequently used kitchen tools in the tops of the cabinets

    4. Underneath the sink: obvious, but store cleaning supplies. Dishwashing liquid, Windex, etc.

    5. Drawers to the left of the sink: dish towels, rags, napkins, placemats, and tablecloths

    6. I like to keep most things off my counter. It just looks more organized that way.

    7. Use the cabinets to the right of your dishwasher for plates, bowls, tupperware, etc that you use often. That way, it makes for a quick putting away the clean dishes session.

    8. Above the oven, store typical cooking supplies: mixing bowls, measuring cups, kitchenaid accessories etc. Also, the cabinet to the right of the microwave can be used for condiments such as salt, pepper, hot sauce since it’s closest to your dining room.

    9. To the left and right of the oven (on the bottom): Pots, pans, cutting boards, baking dishes

    10. Oven drawer: cookie sheets, cooling racks, muffin pans

    11. I keep my cookbooks above my microwave, but if you have space in your pantry, that might be a good place to store them.

    12. In your pantry, organize all your food products by category. For example, all the cans stay together, all the boxed food items stay together, all the baking supplies stay together.

    13. We have an alcohol cabinet as well. Neither of us drink very often, so it’s at the tip top of one of the cabinets. Choose your location based on usage there as well.

    Here’s a couple of pretty, inspirational photos for ya

    Hooray for organization! I think I covered most of it. Have fun!! πŸ™‚

    • April 22, 2010 7:02 pm

      I agree w/ Katherine! She’s way more patient than I am to type it all out.

      Basically when we organized (and reorganized) our kitchen, everything went according to use. Cleaning under the sink. Pots/pans/mixing spoons next to the stove. Glasses/silverware/plates next to the dishwasher. Tupperware next to the fridge.

      And as weird as it sounds, I also organized according to how I turn around in the kitchen. I always am turning to the right, so if I was organizing things, they’d be available to me on my right (mixing spoons/ladles/etc. are immediately to the right of the stove).

  2. Jenny permalink*
    April 23, 2010 2:34 pm

    WOW! Thank you SO much for all the help!

Leave a Reply

