Skip to content

Holiday heaven

November 19, 2007

This season is the exact reason I don’t miss working at a daily newspaper.

The news never takes a holiday. And because the news is always happening, so does the work in a newsroom, which means having time of for the holidays is unheard of.

I only worked at a newspaper for a year and a half, but that was long enough for me to learn that I just couldn’t do it. I couldn’t give up my holidays for the sake of producing a paper. I did for that year and a half, but I didn’t like it.

Which is why I’m thankful to work for a weekly magazine (that doesn’t print over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays) and for a company that values time off to spend with family.

And it’s also why I doubt I’ll ever work for a daily newspaper again.

No comments yet

Leave a comment